Musings of an everyday woman . . .

Reflections on living and loving life . . .

Sunday Stroll: First Blanket of Snow! December 7, 2008

Filed under: Sunday Stroll,Winter — everydaywomanusa @ 10:18 am
Tags: , ,

I couldn’t resist taking an early morning stroll–even before the first light–to enjoy the luscious white, new snow all around us in Southern Connecticut this Sunday!

dscf1109

The forsythia covered in white lights and snow!

dscf1111

dscf1117

dscf1120

Some stubborn Ida Red apples still cling to the snow-laden branches.

dscf1121

The pond and now snow-covered bridge in the early morning . . .

dscf1125

dscf1142

dscf1145

Some other creature was up even earlier than me!

To see who else is strolling this Sunday, click on: The Quiet Country House.

 

14 Responses to “Sunday Stroll: First Blanket of Snow!”

  1. I love the forsythia! And the bridge looks so pretty.

  2. Don’t you just want to go out and play in it? I was up like a crazy lady while it was still dark, just taking it all in!

  3. joyce Says:

    Your snowfall today looks a lot like the one we had last weekend. It’s been so cold the snowcover has stayed throught he whale week.
    I love that blue light before dawn!

  4. Aisling Says:

    Oh my goodness! I love the blue light of the early morning. It is so serene.

    The apples clinging to the tree are so pretty. As is the snow clinging to the branches.

    What a lovely early morning stroll. I’m so glad you shared!

  5. Jena Says:

    Wow – beautiful! Isn’t it nice to have the world all to yourself for a few minutes like that? I love your pond, it is just stunning.

  6. Ruth Says:

    Joyce and Aisling,
    Thanks for your kind comments. We’re still excited about the first snow here, but it’s probably “old hat” in your area! The pre-dawn blue light was well worth getting up for! Hope you enjoyed your weekend and here’s hoping for a great week ahead!……….Ruth

  7. Ruth Says:

    Jena,
    Thanks. Our pond is truly a farm pond. We use it to irrigate our apple, peach, and pear trees, as well as our sweet corn and other veggies. We did a major renovation on it the summer before last, excavating it out and making it deeper and cleaner. We then stocked it with trout. We had a dream to build a covered bridge as an added attraction to take our hayride wagons through during the fall, which we’ve just recently completed. I couldn’t wait to see what the covered bridge looked like with our first snow this morning! We even enjoyed a few picnics pondside this summer and I also got a chance to try out my pedal-boat and canoe there. It’s a pond with a purpose! Thanks for noticing!

  8. Ruth Says:

    Just a note to my fellow strollers—Don’t be shy about entering the digital photo frame key chain give-away. See the following post for details! You can just drop your name in the comment box for a chance!

  9. Chile Says:

    Oh my gosh, those photos are beautiful! But, as a desert dweller, I got the shivers just looking at them. 🙂

  10. Chile,
    I could use a little bit of “desert” right now, and how ’bout some more “dessert,” too? Actually, when I took these photos yesterday, it was balmy, not too cold, but it grew very cold and windy over night with the first, really bitter cold day today. I left for school this morning in 17 degree F weather and the wind was whistling! At this rate, the snow will stay around for a bit. Always great to hear from YOU, as I throw another log on the fire!

  11. linda Says:

    such beautiful pictures of your world….they are lovely and yet, I feel the cold, briskness….thank you for such a gift.

  12. Linda,
    You’re welcome! It was a beautiful scene, which didn’t last long! We had a week full of RAIN, which washed all the pure white goodness away and flooded many roads in the area. Now, it’s begining to freeze up, so we can expect blankets of ice. I much prefer SNOW! Quite different than your world at the moment, right?

  13. Nan Says:

    I just love the light in your pictures. What a great idea!

  14. Thanks, Nan! I’m thinking some of them would make great Christmas cards, if I can get my act in gear–or perhaps Happy New Year cards?


Leave a Reply

