Musings of an everyday woman . . .

Reflections on living and loving life . . .

3 Generations January 3, 2009

dscf1364

I am often inspired by the generations around me, both older and younger, and this holiday season was no exception.

My  Mom (center) has the most positive attitude of any 86-year-old I know.  Recently, she wanted to show a granddaughter who lives in Texas how much she enjoyed her Christmas gift of a new “cowgirl” hat, so she posed for this picture with horses on her own farm. 

mema

Despite being robbed of her sight by glaucoma over the years, she manages to be extremely agile, upbeat, and pretty darn technologically proficient.  Recently, we finally convinced her that she could use a cell phone (for her safety) after she accidentally locked herself in the chicken coop and had to crawl out the tiny “chicken door.”  Now, she uses her cell for enjoyment as well when she discovered that she has “free” nights and weekends, calling long-time friends who now live further away.

While “Mema” can be pretty hip, my daughter, two generations younger, can also be very fashionably “old-fashioned.”    Abbie, also known as the Farmer’s Daughter, is another person who impresses me to no end, linking family values, social issues, and a purposeful lifestyle.  A teacher and environmentalist at heart, she “walks the talk,” living a green, old-fashioned lifestyle today, embracing family values, good old-fashioned cooking, growing and using local foods, sewing, knitting, and creating wonderful gifts of herself for those around her!

dscf13571

Each day I feel thankful for these incredible women around me.  Thank goodness for the three generations in our family!

 

3 Responses to “3 Generations”

  1. I love that picture of Mema!

  2. Ruth Says:

    And I LOVE the one of you with her!

  3. […] The important thing is, I had the wind in my hair, a smile on my face, and I delivered a very special Valentine to my 80-something-year-old mother! […]


Leave a Reply

