Musings of an everyday woman . . .

Reflections on living and loving life . . .

Sunday Stroll: Walk with my Valentine/s February 15, 2009

Filed under: Farm,Living Green,Sunday Stroll — everydaywomanusa @ 6:41 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I took advantage of the thaw today to get in a stroll with my Valentines, both the two-legged and four-legged kind!

dscf1943

The wooded trail along the river was beautiful— and mostly without snow today!

dscf1940

Of course, Duke had to stop to take a drink from the brisk, cold river.

dscf1950

We saw some interesting sights along the way . . .

dscf1948

dscf1951

Crossing the covered bridge . . .

dscf1924

Duke stops for another drink with the workhorses, as we stop to feed them.

dscf1955

Buds on the forsythia show the promise of spring.  I couldn’t resist plucking a few to bring inside to force open.  I just love the happy yellow of this early flower!

dscf1937

All in all, it was a great day for a stroll with my Valentine!

To see who else is strolling this Sunday, visit the Quiet Country House.

 

10 Responses to “Sunday Stroll: Walk with my Valentine/s”

  1. Aisling Says:

    Your wooded trail is beautiful!

    I liked the photos of you with your Valentine. Very cute!

    So glad you strolled

  2. Cloudhands Says:

    I am very fond of covered bridges and bearded men. I have a fine feathered fellow but no covered bridge. Maybe one of these days I’ll catch Flutemaker playing his flute and post his picture. Your walk looked peaceful and refreshing. I hope you get to stroll it often.

  3. I found goldbug! In that last picture Dukie’s peeking out from behind the tree!

  4. Ruth Says:

    Aisling and Cloudhands~

    Thank you! I am kind of partial to beards, dogs, and covered bridges, too! We’re trying to walk this trail regularly for enjoyment, as well as health. My husband’s grandmother, who lived on the farm until she was 99 years old, walked the farm everyday!

    Cloudhands~you definitely should capture Flutemaker on film!

    Abbie~ Dad got such a kick out of your comment! He remembers Goldbug from the storybook so well, as well as our own little Goldbug “Dukie” peeking out of your apartment window! Fond memories!

  5. Lisa Says:

    Sounds fun, Duke looks a lot like one of the Goldens I had.

  6. Green Mamma Says:

    I really enjoyed the photos of Duke, the lighting is awesome. Also, happy Valentine’s Day. I’m glad you got to spend yours with the ones you love. =)

    Oh, and I have meaning to say thank you for a long time. I love, love, love the “Respect Your Mama” tee that I won here. I wear it walking when I do morning laps at the mall. Other walkers are always checking it out. =)

  7. Ruth Says:

    Jessica,

    So glad you’re enjoying the T! Hope it “grows” along with you, Mama-to-be-again!

    Hugs,
    Ruth

  8. Lisa,

    Thanks for stopping by. Duke IS a treasure. We’ve had 3 goldens, all of them a dark, almost reddish color, and he’s by far our favorite! (Sorry, Rusty and Arliss!) I’m sure you enjoyed yours, too!

    Each certainly has his own personality. Duke is great buds with our Old English Sheepdog and is the only golden we’ve had who knows how to open the door to let himself and his buddy out. Of course, he doesn’t know how to CLOSE it!

    Ruth

  9. Lisa Says:

    That’s cute. Now I have a Great Pyrenees. She showed up with three puppies at my parents house. My parents kept one of the puppies that we are pretty sure has some Golden Retriever in him. They are both awesome dogs.

    Goldens are very smart, mine never did things like that though lol.

  10. Beverly Says:

    Nice dog. Nice couple, too.
    Looks like it is cold.


Leave a Reply

