Musings of an everyday woman . . .

Reflections on living and loving life . . .

Aloha Friday! February 20, 2009

Filed under: Aloha Friday,Blogging — everydaywomanusa @ 4:49 pm
Tags: , ,

I just LOVE what Kailani  is doing over at An Island Life with “Aloha Friday.”

In Hawaii, she says, “Aloha Friday is the day that we take it easy and look forward to the weekend.  So I thought that on Fridays I would take it easy on posting, too. Therefore, I’ll ask a simple question for you to answer. Nothing that requires a lengthy response.”

I can’t really say that Friday is any less frantic than any other day of the week here, but I like the idea.  Wouldn’t you love to be on “island time?”

I’m participating in Kailani’s  Aloha Friday and I thought I’d bring a bit of the islands to Everydaywoman.  I’ll be posting a simple question to stir up a little conversation before the weekend.  If you’d like to participate, please respond to the question in a comment, and feel free to post your own question on your blog and leave your link below.  Don’t forget to visit the other participants! It’s a great way to make new bloggy friends!

Kicking off “Aloha Friday” with an island theme, my question to you is: 

What’s YOUR favorite island?

Click on COMMENTS to see what everyone’s saying . . .

and to add your thoughts!!!

 

 

9 Responses to “Aloha Friday!”

  1. Well, this might not count, but… my favorite island is Beals Island up in Maine. I love going up there with my husband and in-laws. While there, my favorite thing to do is wander around their little beach and collect the abundant sea glass. I also love visiting with the locals, eating the best sea scallops I’ve ever tasted, and sitting out on the wharf enjoying fresh blueberry pie!

  2. Ruth Says:

    OF course Beals Island counts! Sometimes, the little, lesser-known islands are the BEST–and for sentimental and personal reasons!

    I’m wondering what a wide variety of islands our memories will bring up! I’m posting my favorites (a tie!) later . . .

  3. Sarah Bean Says:

    Currently, I would have to say Cancun. The beach, weather, food and awesome people all get 5 stars in my book!

    Aloha Friday!

  4. Ruth Says:

    I’d have to say my favorite island is a toss-up between Jamaica (where we visited dear friends when our children were young, who lived in the Blue Hills without electricity, running water, and many of the stresses of everyday life)–and Eleuthera, where I was privileged to spend a week one summer at a totally “green” teachers’ conference at the Island School with my daughter!

    For more on the Island School, go to:
    https://everydaywomanusa.wordpress.com/2008/07/19/what-got-me-thinking-green/

    Of course, I’d like to go to Hawaii, and if I did, I’m sure that would be my NEW favorite island!

  5. Jena Says:

    Island of the Blue Dolphins! Does that count!? I really like that book. Otherwise I’m not sure, I haven’t visited many islands. Actually without some deep thought I can’t say that I’ve visited any real islands except Mackinaw Island, which is very nice but probably not my favorite. Someday we’ll go somewhere warm, I hope!

  6. Mom- I thought for sure you’d say Bimini, Bimini, Bimini!!!

    Jena- What about those islands off North Carolina (?) with the wild horses? I bet you’d love it there!

  7. Sarah Says:

    I love the Big Island of Hawaii. So beautiful!

  8. Jena~Of course “Island of the Blue Dolpins” counts!

    Abbie~Funny you should mention “Bimini…” I just mentioned that on another blog re: favorite vacation spot. . . pristine, very private beaches all to yourself! Staying there years ago with friends at their house (without electricity, washing in the rain!) was so much fun! We collected beautiful conch shells and really did have the beaches to ourselves. I’m sure it’s a bit more developed now . . .

    Are you thinking of Chincoteague islands? My students loved reading about “Misty of Chincoteague” and rounding up the wild ponies there.

    Thanks to everyone for your favorites!


Leave a Reply

