Musings of an everyday woman . . .

Reflections on living and loving life . . .

“Carbon Fast” March 1, 2009

Filed under: Living Green,Reflections — everydaywomanusa @ 6:38 pm
Tags: , , ,

I just love what Lisa over at Retro Housewife Goes Green is doing!  She’s on a “carbon fast” for Lent!

I was raised in a Catholic family where we all fasted, giving up something we liked as a sacrifice for the 40 days before Easter.  As a kid, it always seemed strange to me to give up something you liked instead of perhaps doing something that you knew was good, instead.

Also, considering all the bad press that has come out of the Catholic church in the past decade regarding  immoral behavior of numerous priests, which in many cases seemed to have been covered up–and the fact that I have two brothers were served as altar boys–I haven’t been actively participating in Lenten fastings.  (I won’t go off on a religious tangent here; perhaps another time.)

But . . . when I saw Lisa’s idea to do something GREEN each day for 40 days, I thought what a positive thing this could be . . . to participate in a “carbon fast!”  So, I’m in . . .

In order to keep myself accountable, I’m going to try to post my GREEN ideas each day.  I’ve decided they can be something small, anything new, that I can be doing, each for at least a day.  Things that work well I’ll work into my everday life style.

So here goes. . .

Carbon Fast Green Tip #1: Walk instead of drive!

I just did this and it was easy!  My sister-in-law just called to say she wanted to stop by to see our new horse, Annabelle, and instead of jumping in the car to meet her at the barn, I walked crosslots through the orchard, even though it was COLD and I’d already made that trek a couple of times today.  It felt great!

 

10 Responses to ““Carbon Fast””

  1. Jena Says:

    Bravo to you for taking that on. It is a good idea. I’m not Catholic but my cousins are so I grew up with them giving up pop, candy, etc. for 40 days. It usually ended like a bad New Year’s resolution for them. This sounds like a very good idea to do instead. I look forward to seeing what you come up with!

  2. Um, how did you get home?

  3. Cloudhands Says:

    Oh, what a clever gal you are. This is sure to be a fun useful and hopefully habit forming opportunty to relieve stress from ourselves, the earth and each other. I am going to follow your lead, don’t you know.

  4. Nate Says:

    I agree with Abbie …
    im pretty sure i saw you in her car.

  5. Just playing devil’s advocate. If I observed Lent, this would be a good option for me.

  6. Ummmm, Ab and Nate, I guess you’re right. I walked up, but I did enjoy a chat w/ Ab on the way home . . . in her wheels. ..I forgot! I guess I was saving “my” gas! I’ll have to walk double tomorrow! Halfway is better than nothing, right?

    Jena~I’m going to try to come up with something every day for 40 days and Abbie and Nate are sure to keep me honest!

    Cloudhands~thanks for your kind words. You’re my inspiration, too!

  7. Ab~I think I’ll change the name to “One Green Thing” for each day, Lent or not! Then, you can join in, too! It’ll be nondenominational!

  8. Lisa Says:

    Yay! I haven’t done such a great job due to being sick and my husband being sick. I will get back in to it this week. Glad you are jumping on board. 🙂

  9. Lisa,
    Hope you’re feeling better. You are my inspiration for this! We can always catch up by posting multiple ideas. It’s such a lofty plan, but 40 days straight is a real challenge, especially when we have off-line lives as well! All the best!

  10. […] is why my aim to post “One Green Thing” each day has fallen by the wayside.  So, I’ve got some catching up to do.  Here goes . . […]


Leave a Reply

