Musings of an everyday woman . . .

Reflections on living and loving life . . .

10,000 Steps! April 4, 2009

Filed under: Education,Exercise,Spring — everydaywomanusa @ 9:51 am
Tags: , , , ,

When I came across an old pedometer the other day, I was reminded of an article I had read a while back about taking 10,000 steps each day for your health.  I decided to wear it for fun just to check how I was doing and I tracked 15,547 steps that day, just from daily activity.  Adding a walk around our farm that evening with my husband (something we’re trying to do as many nights as possible), I added a couple thousand more steps.

This past week, I’ve been busy with my students helping them collect and analyze data, so this was a perfect tie-in to real-life experience.  They collected data by choosing an activity (dribbling a basketball, running in place, jumping rope) and timing how many repetitive movements they could do in a minute.  Some even wore pedometers, as they learned about rates, averages/mean, mode, range, median, etc.  I also let them know about the “10,000 steps per day” idea and many of them decided to count their steps for the day, too.  Fortunately, our P.E. Dept. had received a gift of pedometers (that were idle), which they were willing to share.

Anyways, this had led me to really think about getting more exercise and how I can up that daily movement into 20,000 steps to be even healthier.  You’d be surprised how many steps accumulate just from daily activity.  When you’re wearing a pedometer, I think you’re just motivatyed to do more walking because you’re thinking about it more.

So . . . a few friends and I have signed up to do some 5K Walk/Runs and I’m planning on our annual, 8-mile hike around a local reservoir when that opens up to the public in May.  I’ve never been much of a “runner,” although I did jog BC (Before Children).  I’ve always loved doing aerobic dance classes and ever taught them for a bit (AC) and while pregnant, I taught a prenatal aerobics class, which was a lot of fun.  These days, the gym doesn’t seem to be beckoning me as much, but the outside is, after being inside most of the day at school.

As spring is in the air, and it’s getting warmer and greener,  I know I need to firm up from too much “winter idleness.”  What are you doing for exercising?  Are you a walker or a runner?  Is the gym your exercise place of choice?  What fits into your day?

 

7 Responses to “10,000 Steps!”

  1. Jena Says:

    Whew, I just got done helping Brian stack 250 bales of hay so that fits perfectly with your post. I never get very efficient at stacking because I usually drive the tractor instead but it is a very good workout when I do help. I work in my garden almost every morning in the summer which I feel is good exercise as well. Plus, horseback riding keeps my legs strong. Overall, I find that life on the farm keeps me fit which is good since it doesn’t leave me any time for the gym. I did take a kickboxing class once and that was a lot of fun, I highly recommend it. I like that idea of taking a walk around your farm every night. Sound like an enjoyable routine with some healthy benefits! 🙂

  2. Jena~I know what you mean about stacking hay as being a good workout! Growing up on my family’s dairy farm as the youngest of 5 siblings, I have to admit, that my job as the “baby of the family” was usually to drive the tractor as my brothers picked up the hay bales.

    I think that work that is physical naturally keeps you in better shape and those people don’t need the gym. My husband’s grandmother lived ’til age 99 and did lots of daily chores on the farm, including walking with the dogs in the orchard every day. My Dad, also a farmer, lived a wonderful 88 years, and never stepped into a gym, but he worked with his hands and body every single day. I wish these people earned more respect than they seem to get! I think many farmers I know would laugh at people we have to pay to get their exercise in a gym.

    As we walk the farm, we check on the animals, crops, fences, pond, etc., etc. and it’s a fun—not to mention free—way to get a little exercise as my every day work isn’t as physical as it could be!

    Thanks so much for your comments!

  3. Misty Says:

    Good for you for “getting out”! That’s a theme for me right now. I meant to have 100% “organic exercise” last year, but broke my foot just getting started, so I have been a gym rat for a while, I’m trying to get back out onto the road but it is slow going. For now I am still heading to the gym for my aerobic exercise. But 2-4 times a week I am walking the 4.5 mile loop to pick my daughter up from daycare and it is wonderful in so many ways – getting exercise and fresh air, saving gas, meeting people and seeing things (crocuses!) I wouldn’t see otherwise, and getting to chat more and bond with my daughter. And she loves it too!

  4. Cloudhands Says:

    I don’t run. I’m not sure why, just seems unnatural to me. I do skip from time to time. We tend to be walkers and that’s what I prefer. I have been known to put on a classic rock station and dance around the living room. Three minutes of wiggling and boot scooting is a good rule of thumb with a rest during a commercial or the second oldie but goodie. Then I dance again. We do belong to the Y and I do the Curves routine there. Oh, darn I guess I do run, I run in place between the machine exercises. Surely running is hard on the body, what with shin splints and jarring all the joints up and down. The truth be told, I’m a Tai Chi person and that exercise is slow, steady and graceful. You can actually work up a sweat doing it, doesn’t seem likely but I am a living testimony to that. What ever you choose to do, have fun with it and smile. I have a sense that you already know that.

  5. Misty~Sounds like you have a perfect combination of exercise and HOW NICE that you can share the walk with your daughter! What wonderful together time!

    Cloudhands~I can just picture you skipping and doing Tai Chi, too–all with a smile on your face!!! Running just seems kind of unnatural to me now and I’ve get to find the support necessary to feel comfortable as gravity is taking its toll!

  6. Eileen Says:

    I used to jog before having children too. Now, I try to get out and walk around our farm. We have 5 1/2 acres and 5 times a week, I walk around holding onto my hand weights, stopping here and there to check on things. I also mow the grass and work in the garden too. I would much rather be outside working than in the house working! My parents (who still live in Connecticut and are in their 80’s) walk 2 1/2 miles 3 times a week. My dad just gave up jogging last year!

  7. Eileen~

    Wow! You come from great stock! I, too, would much rather be outside working than in the house. In the summer, I’d MUCH rather vacuum the pool than the house—and then garden in between!

    Thanks for the idea on the hand weights. I should probably add those to my walk, especially if I want to get “Michelle Obama” arms! Ha ha!


Leave a Reply

