Musings of an everyday woman . . .

Reflections on living and loving life . . .

Aloha Friday!!! April 8, 2009

Filed under: Aloha Friday — everydaywomanusa @ 10:25 pm
Tags: ,

I’m getting a jump on “Aloha Friday” this week!

I just LOVE what Kailani  is doing over at An Island Life with “Aloha Friday.”

In Hawaii, she says, “Aloha Friday is the day that we take it easy and look forward to the weekend.  So I thought that on Fridays I would take it easy on posting, too. Therefore, I’ll ask a simple question for you to answer. Nothing that requires a lengthy response.”

I can’t really say that Friday is any less frantic than any other day of the week here, but I like the idea.  Wouldn’t you love to be on “island time?”

I’m participating in Kailani’s  Aloha Friday and I thought I’d bring a bit of the islands to Everydaywoman.  I’ll be posting a simple question to stir up a little conversation before the weekend.  If you’d like to participate, please respond to the question in a comment, and feel free to post your own question on your blog and leave your link below.  Don’t forget to visit the other participants! It’s a great way to make new bloggy friends!

My “Aloha Friday” question this week is: 

IF YOU HAD A WEEK OF VACATION TO SPEND AT HOME,

WHAT WOULD YOU DO?

Click on the COMMENTS below to see what everyone’s saying . . .

and please add your thoughts!!!

Just because some of you have asked . . .

here’s an update of what I’d do!!!

Funny you should ask because that’s exactly what I have next week—a week off from school (spring vacation) and no exotic destination, unlike some of my students and colleagues, who are going to the Florida Keys, St. Johns, London, the Galapagos Islands, etc. I’m going to be home and and am very HAPPY about that!

Actually, it’s going to be a “catch-up week” for me. I’m excited about being home because I’m not here enough these days!

Here’s what’s on my list:

* Finish and mail taxes before the April 15th deadline (always seems to coincide with April vacation for me!)

* Complete some school projects, working from home and school a bit, and to get a jump-start on what comes next.

* Rollerblading and lunch out with my daughter (remembering what it was like to be home when our children were young—-I SO loved that!)

* Long walks around the farm; walks in the sand at the beach

* Planting painsies in outside planters (a rite of spring for me!)

* Making Easter baskets for our kids and other family members

* Baking special treats for Easter

* Making more home-cooked meals!

* Shuttling my Mom to doctor appointments, etc., and probably out to lunch

* Riding around topless–or should I say top-down? (in my little red ride, that is!)

* Biking

* Catching up with my list of “to do” things

* Shopping trip with my daughter to get a few items for an upcoming business trip to D.C. and another special event

* More school work

* Blogging and reading blogs

* Is the week over yet? (I’m sure I’ll be out of week before I’m out of things on my list!)

Most of all, I’m going to relish the time home, because I’m away from home too much these days. I hope for some warm spring days to spend time outside, doing all the things I love to do!

 

 

 

21 Responses to “Aloha Friday!!!”

  1. Cloudhands Says:

    Well wouldn’t you know the first question out of the box is for the working gals and guys around here. Oh well–We are retired and I am on a constant vacation. I do pretty much what I want to do when I want to do it. I allow a few obligations here and there just to keep me humble, but for the most part I just have a good time all the time.
    If I were employed and had a week at home I would quilt, and take long walks in the woods and down the road.
    But, I’m not— and I’m so glad to be a Free woman.

  2. Lisa Says:

    umm.. that is hard because I’m a stay at home wife. So we will say I don’t need to do normal cleaning or writing.

    I would get the two flower gardens ready and the veggie garden planted. Spend lots of time with my dog. Knit and maybe teach myself a new stitch finally.

  3. Jena Says:

    Well… I’d like to think that I would enjoy my husband’s company, ride my horse, sip some iced tea on the porch… but in reality I would probably try to get as much done as possible. Work on the house, inside and out, build the eggmobile and broiler house, fix fence, make all the phone calls I can’t make now because I work during business hours, and help Brian with whatever he needs. Yup, that sounds about right.

    What would you do?

  4. Laurie Says:

    Bake, cook, write, and get outside if the weather complies. Thanks for the inspiration!

    We love your site.

    Laurie
    ecoki.com

  5. Ruth Says:

    Jena~funny you should ask because that’s exactly what I have next week—a week off from school (spring vacation) and no exotic destination, unlike some of my students and colleagues, who are going to the Florida Keys, St. Johns, London, the Galapagos Islands, etc. I’m going to be home and and am very HAPPY about that!

    Actually, it’s going to be a “catch-up week” for me. I’m excited about being home because I’m not here enough these days!

    Here’s what’s on my list:

    * Finish and mail taxes before the April 15th deadline (always seems to coincide with April vacation for me!)

    * Complete some school projects, working from home and school a bit, and to get a jump-start on what comes next.

    * Rollerblading and lunch out with my daughter (remembering what it was like to be home when our children were young—-I SO loved that!)

    * Long walks around the farm; walks in the sand at the beach

    * Planting painsies in outside planters (a rite of spring for me!)

    * Making Easter baskets for our kids and other family members

    * Baking special treats for Easter

    * Making more home-cooked meals!

    * Shuttling my Mom to doctor appointments, etc., and probably out to lunch

    * Riding around topless–or should I say top-down? (in my little red ride, that is!)

    * Biking

    * Catching up with my list of “to do” things

    * Shopping trip with my daughter to get a few items for an upcoming business trip to D.C. and another special event

    * More school work

    * Blogging and reading blogs

    * Is the week over yet? (I’m sure I’ll be out of week before I’m out of things on my list!)

    Most of all, I’m going to relish the time home, because I’m away from home too much these days. I hope for some warm spring days to spend time outside, doing all the things I love to do!

    Cloudhands~So sorry if it seems like this question was geared to those working. I guess I should have said what if you were to take a vacation at home (away from usual duties, chores), what would you do? It sounds like you already have a life of joy, every day! I was home full-time when our kids were small and I cherished that time. . . and I do miss it!

    Lisa~I love your comments about gardening and getting away from normal cleaning . . . did you notice that cleaning didn’t even make my list?

    Jena~I’m sure your days would be crammed full with DIT projects! How wonderful!

    Laurie~thanks for your kind comment! I’m also going to spend time writing . . . and reading . . . and visiting all of your sites!

  6. Jen Says:

    Well thats hard I work from home so I need a vacation out of the house lol..

  7. Honestly, SLEEP IN! LOL. I’d probably go out to eat – get some stuff done around the house – and go see a play or musical downtown.

  8. Alicia Says:

    I would probably do absolutely nothing.

  9. If I had a week at home and I was on vacation, I’d probably just veg out. I should probably say that I’d clean and organize but I know I’d end up relaxing and watching trashy daytime TV.

  10. Tara Says:

    I would catch up on sleep, then read, enjoy my husband being home.. but I am home all the time.. so lol Perhaps we might have to go out to eat or something..otherwise it wouldn’t feel like a vacation lol Just a really longggggggggggggg weekend.

  11. Auntie E Says:

    Oh I would play out in the yard. Garden, plant flowers and Veggie. Swim everyday, Swing on the play set. lay out in the sun for 1 hour and read a book. That’s what I do all summer on Vacation.

  12. i would spend more time in bed, but i’d probably lay there thinking about all that needs to be done. if the children were on vacation away from home, i would do lots of cleaning and tossing! i would also take some time to shop for me and find a relaxing place to read or just hang out. i need a week off – badly!

  13. Clean my house, pull all our weeds, reorganize my mudroom, and straighten my closest! Whew…I’m tired. Some vacation! 🙂

  14. Jennifer Says:

    Hire a sitter! LOL! Come over and link up! Enter a few giveaways while your there 🙂

  15. Sues2u2 Says:

    I’m a sahm & my kids are in school. I usually have that life! lol, no actually it would be fun to have everyone home & not sick. I just had to pick up my sg. She’s started to run a fever, darn it!

  16. Assuming I was home sans kiddos I would tackle the upstairs and finish organizing things for a play room. Then I would try to work out a lot more without someone on my ankles. And when relaxing I would get plenty of knitting in.

  17. Janet F Says:

    I would catch up on cleaning and reading.

  18. Toni Says:

    Go take the kids to the park, clean, catch up on laundry stuff i never seem to do LOL

  19. Jenny Says:

    If I were alone at my house for a week, I could get so much done. I’d love to have the carpets cleaned, do some painting, work on the landscaping, and sleep 🙂

  20. Ruth Says:

    Thanks so much to everyone for stopping by and having fun with this question!

    Look for another one next Friday! Until then . . . Aloha!!!

  21. […] to be brutally honest with the progress I made with the list I posted at the beginning of this at-home vacation week!  Here […]


Leave a Reply

