Musings of an everyday woman . . .

Reflections on living and loving life . . .

How am I doing? Update on “My At-home Vacation To-Do List” April 19, 2009

Filed under: Family,Reflections,Spring,Sunday Stroll — everydaywomanusa @ 11:05 am
Tags: , ,

OK, I’m going to be brutally honest with the progress I made with the list I posted at the beginning of this at-home vacation week!  Here goes…

* Finish and mail taxes before the April 15th deadline (always seems to coincide with April vacation for me!)  YES!  For the first time ever, I was early!!!  Mailed ’em on April 13th, with 2 days to spare!

* Complete some school projects, working from home and school a bit, and to get a jump-start on what comes next.  YES, I actually completed 3/4 of the school projects I’d planned . . . and I still have this weekend to finish up!

  * Rollerblading and lunch out with my daughter (remembering what it was like to be home when our children were young—-I SO loved that!)  YEP!  Did that on Friday in the glorious sun, with the wind blowing . . . and I have pix to prove it!

 dscf27081

  (OK, we weren’t actually rollerblading ON the beach, but we were close enough to the ocean that I felt the need to get a shot there!)

* Long walks around the farm; walks in the sand at the beach  YES on the first, 4 nights in a row with DH and counting . . . NOPE on the second as my daughter said she didn’t want to get sand in her rollerblades, so we stuck to the non-sandy areas!

* Planting painsies in outside planters (a rite of spring for me!)  Does placing 2 baskets of painsies outside count?  It’s still too cold at night (below freezing) and this way I can bring them in at night.

* Making Easter baskets for our kids and other family members  DONE and already mostly eaten and history . . .

* Baking special treats for Easter (Check!)

* Making more home-cooked meals!  YUP, Lasagna, spaghetti, even surprised the guys with a standing rib roast!

* Shuttling my Mom to doctor appointments, etc., and probably out to lunch  YES and YES

* Riding around topless–or should I say top-down? (in my little red ride, that is!)  OH YES!  With the heat on as my daughter complained she was cold! 

* Biking  Just once, but I still have today!

* Catching up with my list of “to do” things  Okay, I’m chipping away at it!

* Shopping trip with my daughter to get a few items for an upcoming business trip to D.C. and another special event  OH yeah, got new sandals, birthday presents for DH and youngest son, and a way fancy summer dress that I couldn’t resist, but now I need someplace to wear it!  (I decided I had enough already for DC trip.)

* More school work  (There’s still this weekend.)

* Blogging and reading blogs  (Yes and yes, but I’m not done yet!)

* Is the week over yet? (I’m sure I’ll be out of week before I’m out of things on my list!)

Here are a few things I did that weren’t even on my list, but were necessities:

  • Laundry
  • Dishes
  • Grocery shopping
  • laundry
  • dishes
  • grocery shopping
  • etc.
  • etc.
  • etc.

see the pattern?

Most of all, I’m going to relish the time home, because I’m away from home too much these days. I hope for some warm spring days to spend time outside, doing all the things I love to do!  (Yes, yes, and yes!)

I did even make a trip into two of my schools to TCB (Take care of business!)

Still have to accomplish today/Sunday:

  • Review two new teachers’ portfolios before tomorrow!
  • Plan for lessons and meetings at school tomorow
  • More laundry
  • Catch up w/ school e-mail, which I’ve been doing on a daily basis…
  • Get things in order for an upcoming business trip
  • Cook, more laundry
  • Probably go to the grocery store . . . ugh!
  • Complete the items I’ve procrastinated on all week
  • Help my DH celebrate his birthday . . . and since I told him he was #1 on my list today, I’m not so sure about the other items!

So, if I’m “strolling” today, it’ll be with him and I’m not planning on posting a “Sunday Stroll,” as I need to get everything else done.  I’ll probably be up all night, but it was a DELICIOUS WEEK at home!

 

 

Leave a Reply

