Musings of an everyday woman . . .

Reflections on living and loving life . . .

Sunday Stroll Around D.C. April 26, 2009

Filed under: Sunday Stroll — everydaywomanusa @ 9:32 am
Tags: ,

I just got back from four days in Washington, D.C., for a national educators’ conference that drew about 15,000 educators to the city.  We had jam-packed days with some really worthwhile workshops, presentations, time in the exhibit halls, and I’ve brought back all kinds of great ideas for my students, colleagues, and myself.

We also had to take advantage of such a vibrant, historic city.  I soon ditched my heels for sneakers as we logged 12-15 miles on foot each day, back and forth to the convention center, exhibits, hotels . . . but also to the wonderful historic and cultural sights around the city.  I even got a glimpse of the first pooch at the White House.  If you missed my earlier post on Bo Obama,  click here.

As far as flora goes, the cherry blossoms were over, but the dogwood was in full bloom, as well as azaleas and a plethora of other wonderful flowers.

2008_0819washingtondc0163

2008_0819washingtondc0164

2008_0819washingtondc0165

The Botanical Garden was also incredible. . .

2008_0819washingtondc0248

2008_0819washingtondc0262

2008_0819washingtondc0264

2008_0819washingtondc0259

2008_0819washingtondc0250

2008_0819washingtondc0103

This is short and sweet and I promise more later . . .  it’s just that I’ve got unpacking to do and a family to take care of who’s feeling a bit neglected . . .

To see who else is strolling on this gorgeous weekend, visit the Quiet Country House.

2008_0819washingtondc02661

 

7 Responses to “Sunday Stroll Around D.C.”

  1. Aisling Says:

    The capital looks beautiful in April! Thank you for sharing your excursion!

  2. Cloudhands Says:

    Sounds like a worthwhile trip to me. I look forward to anything more you will want to share from your time In D.C.
    Wecome home.

  3. Aisling and Cloudhands~as always, thanks for your kind comments! Sounds like everyone has had a lot going on lately! I look forward to catching up with everyone’s blogs!

  4. Green Mamma Says:

    Beautiful. Sorry to have missed you, though it looks like your visit was quite full indeed. See you soon, Jessica

  5. Jessica,

    So sorry to have missed you, too, but I know how busy everyone’s schedules are. My few days in D.C. flew by! What a lovely area you live in!

    Please let me know when you’re up our way in the summer!

  6. Chile Says:

    D.C. is a great place to visit with so much to see on the Mall. When I worked on the Hill as an intern (many years ago), all the women wore sneakers outside and changed into their heels in the office. It was really the only way to deal with the subway crowds and long walks. Too bad you missed the cherry blossoms!

  7. […] Blossoms, Rose Orchards, Sunday Stroll I was delighted after experiencing the beautiful blooms in Washington, D.C., last week, to come home to find that our own blossoms weren’t far […]


Leave a Reply

