Musings of an everyday woman . . .

Reflections on living and loving life . . .

My Handsome Guys! May 17, 2009

Filed under: Animals,Family,Farm — everydaywomanusa @ 4:38 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Just couldn’t resist snapping these pix the other day as my guys were taking care of our workhorses and new calf.

DSCF3464

Jonathan’s leading our pair of Dapple Gray Percherons to the barn after they enjoyed a day of romping in the pasture.  Our original team were brothers,  named Bob and Duke.  These guys go by the names of Bill and Vinny, but I find myself reverting often to the names of our two orignals, who were truly the best.  In homage to then, I still call the new team, “Bob and Duke.”  That way, I don’t have to break the sad news of the of the original team’s passing, one by one, to the hordes of little ones who visit the farm daily.  As they age, Percherons change from a dappled gray to almost pure white.  Aren’t these guys handsome?

DSCF3411

Here’s Nathaniel lovingly carrying a new Brown Swiss calf from his truck to make its home on our farm.  This little bull comes to us from a neighboring farm and we’re still looking for just the right name for him.   Any ideas for a fitting name for this cutey?

Oh, by the way, to all the twenty-somethings out there, the handsome guys with two legs are single—at least presently!

 

7 Responses to “My Handsome Guys!”

  1. retrohousewifegoesgreen Says:

    The horses are so pretty and the cow is super cute!!

  2. Jena Says:

    LoL, this makes me laugh because if I had met one of your boys I may have been able to keep my last name!! They are cuties and I bet they won’t last long. After all, ladies love country boys! 😉

    • Jena~you are too funny! Yes, wouldn’t that have been handy, to keep your last name!?! You definitely are happily “married to the farm,” but any chance you have a sister or two?

      Oh, and isn’t there a song by that same name: “ladies love country boys!”

  3. I’ve given you an award! Come on over and check it out!

  4. Jena Says:

    Sorry, only one sister and she’s a girly girl all the way. All about purses and shoes. And only 16. Lol.

    Yes, Trace Adkins sings “Ladies Love Country Boys”. How true that is! 🙂

  5. Joy Says:

    Those horses are beautiful. I have not seen a horse since I’ve been here in FL.


Leave a Reply

