Musings of an everyday woman . . .

Reflections on living and loving life . . .

Weekend in “God’s Country” May 25, 2009

Vermont May 2009 008

Vermont May 2009 009

We spent the long Memorial Day Weekend working/playing in one of our favorite places in the Northeast Kingdom.  Of course, there were some chores to take care of, like cutting the grass, but we were outside and it was lovely!

So,  we did some of this . . .

Vermont May 2009 001

. . . and some of this . . .

Vermont May 2009 002

. . . and this . . .

Vermont May 2009 003

 . . . and a bit  of this . . .

  Vermont May 2009 006

. . . and then some of this . . .

Vermont May 2009 005

. . . TOO much of this. . .

Vermont May 2009 007

. . . and a bit of this . . .

Vermont May 2009 010

and some of this . . .

Vermont May 2009 012

My very own “Marlboro Man,” but better . . . he doesn’t smoke, he’s just smokin’!

And, he even cooks (fresh-caught Brook Trout, that is) . . .

Vermont May 2009 015

Eat your heart out, PW!

I did a little of this . . .

DSCF3505

and a teeny bit of this . . .

Vermont May 2009 014

and a LOT of this!

Vermont May 2009 016

And, then, some more of this . . .

Vermont May 2009 004

Of course, what I didn’t spend a lot of time on was the paperwork that I brought with me (and laptop, too, of course) for school tomorrow, which I guess is what the middle of the night will be for tonight!

Here’s wishing a wonderful weekend and memories to you and your family, wherever it finds you, your friends, and family.  And not to forget the real reason for this Memorial Weekend, I leave you with some patriotic words in respect for all who have served and continue to serve our country in the military, from another one of my favorite guys, Toby Keith . . . American Soldier . . .

dscf1753

 

6 Responses to “Weekend in “God’s Country””

  1. Looks like you guys had fun! Tell Nate to take it easy in the wheelies!

    I went to let Eddie out this morning and noticed they were setting up for the parade. I left at like 9:30 and took my time walking and visiting with Eddie, since I knew the road would be closed. When I tried to go home at almost 11, they still hadn’t opened the road! I had to go sit in the parking lot at Big Y, where Ed met me since he was coming home from fishing! We finally got home at like 11:30. That’s the one bad thing about this road!!!

  2. Aisling Says:

    Looks like a whole lot of fun! Glad you got some R&R!

  3. Jena Says:

    Looks like the whole family had a blast! Wheelies scare me, I guess I’m a stick in the mud. Brian has an old 3 wheeler that he refuses to get rid of even though the brakes are shot. Brakes cost more than the whole rest of it so he just rides it without. I stick with the four wheeler, at least all the parts work.

    Sounds like you had a great, refreshing weekend anyway. Don’t stay up too late, at least for me that always makes the next morning rough. Glad it’s a short week!

    • Jena~I’m with you on the wheelies, that’s for sure! At least, I feel a little safer with quads b/c there are 4 wheels (usually) on the ground!

      My sons have had dirtbikes, but I’m absolutely against motorcycles on the road because they seem to almost be a deathwish around here . . . way too many accidents!

      Unfortunately, I can’t pull the all-nighters like I used to!

  4. Kate Says:

    That looks like a fun Memorial Day Weekend! Beautiful pictures


Leave a Reply

