Musings of an everyday woman . . .

Reflections on living and loving life . . .

Aloha Friday #9! June 11, 2009

Filed under: Aloha Friday — everydaywomanusa @ 5:23 am

Friday is coming again, so that means it’s time for . . .

My “Aloha Friday” question this week is: 

WHAT DO YOU DO TO RELIEVE STRESS?

(I’m asking this for personal reasons here.  We have about 2 more weeks of the school year and I’m sure I have about 2 months worth of work that I need to complete in that time — not the fun stuff with kids, but data, evaluations, reports, etc., etc., and it’s just a BIT more stressful than usual!  Not to mention all the “fun” stuff like year-end celebrations, retirement parties, and parties that I’m hosting!)

Thanks so much for your ideas!!!

 

If you’d like to participate in more Aloha Friday questions, click on over to  An Island Life for Kailani’s  “Aloha Friday.”

 

16 Responses to “Aloha Friday #9!”

  1. Jena Says:

    Lately I’ve been letting myself sleep in one day on the weekend. That helps. Another thing that helps me is to make a list of the top 3 or 5 things I want to get done that day. When it is done I don’t feel guilty if I relax a little. That might not help if you’re on a deadline but maybe it would keep you focused. Taking a few minutes to sip iced tea on the porch with my husband or walk through my garden really helps too. Good luck, it’ll be over before you know it!

  2. Cloudhands Says:

    I do Tai Chi or Qi Gong, but what I would recomend is to take time now and then to stretch and breath 2 or 3 deep belly breathes and think or say aahh on the out breath. It can be very refreshing. We breath anyway, so put it to good use as a relaxing mini break. I also like Jena’s suggestions. I’m sure you can pace yourself and get to the end of the school year just fine.

  3. Green Mamma Says:

    I sleep. As much as possible. Whenever my 2 year old will let me that is . . . 🙂

  4. AuntieE Says:

    Watch a good funny Movie. or a funny sitcom. It allows me time to enter some other world.

  5. pam Says:

    Breath deep and try to put things in perspective.

  6. I exercise w/EA Sports Active or Leslie Sansone DVDs. Also love to knit, blog and read.

  7. Tara Says:

    Ok In the past I would tell you eat lol But that hasn’t gotten me anywhere!!! lol So Exercise is such a huge stress reliever, or taking a nap, watching a movie (just to take your mind off …)

  8. Carol Olsen Says:

    I call a friend or two and go out for a drink! I love spending time with my friends and then all of the stresses are gone!!

    Or, I relax in a hot bath with candles burining and my favorite (Hawaiian) music playing!

    Thanks for asking!!
    Have a great Aloha Friday!!

  9. I usually take a bath.. take a good interior design magazine and loose myself in there or start blogging!:)

    Have a nice weekend!

    (fellow Aloha Friday girl here)

  10. Becca Says:

    I love reading or doing crossword puzzles to relax 🙂

  11. Baba Says:

    A hot bath yes, but sex is the best stress reliever I know of.

  12. Audrey Says:

    read
    play hearts
    blog

  13. Jenn Says:

    Hello. I go to yoga on Friday nights because it relaxes me after a long week of hard work. When I have important things that need to get done, I will treat myself after I complete each task. Maybe I’ll go get a pedicure or a massage. Something to reward myself for my hard work, which then motivates me to finish up other things that I have left to do so I can earn my next fun reward! This helped me all through graduate school to get through long papers and my thesis. 🙂
    ~Jenn

  14. WOW! Thanks for all your GREAT ideas!!! They are all wonderful, but I’m thinking Baba might be onto something!

  15. Chile Says:

    I was surprised to find that my new weight bag helps me relax. I got it to practice punches, strikes, and kicks from my self-defense class but found it really helps with relieving stress. Even my TMJ is improved after a good workout.


Leave a Reply

