Musings of an everyday woman . . .

Reflections on living and loving life . . .

The Miracle of Birth June 27, 2009

Filed under: Animals,Family,Farm,Workhorses — everydaywomanusa @ 9:36 am
Tags: , , , , ,

 annabelle's baby 125

Annabelle’s foal surprised us my making her entrance into the world a little sooner than expected!  She is the most beautiful, perfect, spotted draft filly with lanky legs, beautiful, long eyelashes, and a skip in her step . . . all in her first day!

Annabelle is the MOST PERFECT mother, catering to her young daughter’s every wish . . .

annabelle's baby 073

Of course, timing is everything and when I got the call early Thursday morning that our new baby had arrived, I didn’t believe it at first.  I was also heartbroken because I was hours away, giving an educational workshop.  Even though school was out for students, it wasn’t for me and I was dying to bond with our new baby.  I dashed out just as soon as I could and spent the next 2 hours in the barn, just admiring this work of perfection!  She is so perfect, it is almost surreal!

We’re still searching for JUST the right name for her.  Under consideration at the moment are:  Isabelle, Belle, Beauty, Rosabelle, Belle of the Ball, Cinderella, probably all preceeded by Rose Farms’ ___________.  It’s a difficult decision to agree on!  Any thoughts?

To see more pix, skip on over to our Rose Orchards site.  Abbie and I have taken hundreds of photos of our new treasure in the first couple of days and will post more soon, as soon as I return from barn to admire her some more . . .

 

7 Responses to “The Miracle of Birth”

  1. Right now I’m thinking Rose Farms Belle of the Ball, call her Belle. But we’ll have to get Dad to agree!

  2. I LOVE IT! I’ll work on Dad . . .

  3. Cloudhands Says:

    I think everyone who sees little ‘Belle’ must fall in love with her. I am going to enjoy reading about her adventures as she moves out into the world.

  4. She’s so beautiful. I like all the names, but I’d lean towards Rosabelle, I think! Congratulations!

  5. Imelda~
    Thanks for your comments. I like Rosabelle, too! She’s surely a beauty in our eyes, too!

  6. […] Our baby filly, Isabelle, is now officially taller than our 18-year-old miniature horse, Whinny.  Although, actually, I think Baby Belle was actually already bigger than Whinny on the day she was born! […]


Leave a Reply

