Musings of an everyday woman . . .

Reflections on living and loving life . . .

Talk of the Barnyard! (Sunday Stroll–June 28) June 28, 2009

Filed under: Adventures,Animals,Farm,Sunday Stroll — everydaywomanusa @ 5:54 am
Tags: , , ,

Since our new filly was born, she’s been the talk of the barnyard.  On her third day, we introduced her to the menagerie of other animals on the farm.

Here’s what everyone is saying . . .

"Who's the new kid on the block?"

"Who's the new kid on the block?"

"I don't see what all the fuss is about.  She isn't even a long neck!"

"I don't see what all the fuss is about. She isn't even a long neck!"

"Let's get a closer look. . ."

"Let's get a closer look. . ."

"Mommy, will they be nice to me?"

"Mommy, will they be nice to me?"

"I'm king of the mountain!"

"I'm king of the mountain!"

"Whinny, you may THINK you're king of the mountain, but you WILL be nice to my new baby girl!"

"Whinny, you may THINK you're king of the mountain, but you WILL be nice to my new baby girl!"

"Mommy, I'm scared!"

"Mommy, I'm scared!"

"Will you be my friend?  We're about the same size!"

"Will you be my friend? We're about the same size!"

"Mommy, I'm hungry!"

"Mommy, I'm hungry!"

 

"Can we play together?"

"Can we play together?"

"Mommy, I think they like me, but I'm SO tired . . ."

"Mommy, I think they like me, but I'm SO tired . . ."

"A Mother's work is never done . . . "
“A Mother’s work is never done . . . “

To see who else is “strolling” today, click here.

 

12 Responses to “Talk of the Barnyard! (Sunday Stroll–June 28)”

  1. Cloudhands Says:

    I think this is just a wonderful childrens story book. A little child could learn about different farm animals and make up their own captions along with yours. I bet it would sell very well there at the farm market. It would be a wonderful memory book of a visit. Actually I’d buy one myself.

  2. Ruth Says:

    OK, Cloudhands . . . once again we think alike! Guess what my daughter and I are doing this summer?

    Actually, I wrote a children’s book about 12 years ago, centered on our team of Percherons and their adventures, but never was persistent enough to get it published.

    I’ve started a draft of a new one from the eyes of the little filly and am determined this time.

    Thanks so much for your encouragement!

    Hugs,
    Ruth

  3. Aisling Says:

    Ruth,

    Love the story of the new little lady on your farm. She’s just a doll! Good luck with the writing project. Sign me up for an autographed early edition! 🙂

  4. abbie Says:

    All that’s missing is Charlotte!

  5. Tabbie Says:

    Your horses are lovely! All your animals are wonderful! How blessed you are.

  6. Crafty Gardener Says:

    I love the animals having a conversation. Lovely photos.

    • Crafty Gardener,

      Thanks so much! Our family always seems to talk for our animals, saying what we think they must be thinking! It’s actually quite fun. Do your animals talk?

  7. Pat Says:

    Ruth,
    Just saw the filly, she is more beautiful in person. Mama did a good job! ( you need to find a name for her )
    Enjoy her! She will grow really fast. I know how fast those grandchildren grow 🙂
    Love,
    Pat

    • I know Pat/Grandma! The only thing more exciting is when it’s an actual human grandchild, but I don’t think the “Papa” would be much prouder!

      Thanks so much for stopping by over the weekend; it’s always good to see you. I totally lose track of time when I’m admiring this baby; the hours just fly by! I know you keep telling me this about grandbabies!

      I just told my family this morning we need to finally decide on a name that fits her. Now, they’ve thrown “Shiloh” and “Sophia” into the mix, when I thought we were all set with “Belle” or “Bella.” It’s almost as hard as naming a child!

  8. […] that for an animal that’s as big around as she is tall?  I guess so b/c we do for people!), Whinny has the BIGGEST attitude and has been known to boss the huge workhorses […]


Leave a Reply

