Musings of an everyday woman . . .

Reflections on living and loving life . . .

Aloha Friday #11 July 2, 2009

Filed under: Aloha Friday,Animals,Workhorses — everydaywomanusa @ 11:27 am
Tags: , , , , ,

annabelle's baby 125

Friday is coming again, so that means it’s time for . . .

My “Aloha Friday” question this week is: 

IF YOU HAD A BABY SHIRE WORKHORSE THIS CUTE,

WHAT WOULD YOU NAME HER?

Here’s a little background . . . her Mom is a Shire Workhorse named Annabelle and the baby filly (girl) is black & white and a week old.  She’s more than 150 lbs. already with long, spindly legs, who loves to run!

Here are some of the names in the running, but our family is having trouble coming to consensus on the perfect name:

  • Belle
  • Bella
  • Isabelle
  • Shiloh
  • Shania
  • Beauty
  • Cinderella/”Ella”

(Thanks so much for your ideas!!!)

 

If you’d like to participate in more Aloha Friday questions, click on over to  An Island Life for Kailani’s  “Aloha Friday.”

"Mommy, will they be nice to me?"

Annabelle & Baby (3 days old) out in the pasture for the first time.

 

25 Responses to “Aloha Friday #11”

  1. Cloudhands Says:

    Not that this will help you, but I would call her Precious. Annabelles Precious Filly. Ya’all seem to lean toward people names. I see a strong Disney influence. I’m inclined toward descriptive or made up names. If I need to choose one from the list I’d go with Belle. It is part of her mommas name and that seems nice.

    • everydaywoman Says:

      I love “Precious!” Because that’s exactly what she is! Her formal name will be longer, combining her mother’s and father’s names, but I do love Precious!

      Thanks, Cloudhands!

  2. Jena Says:

    What about Clarabelle? Or Jezzabelle.

    • Um, Clarabelle reminds me of someone’s Aunt Clarabelle. I DO like Jezzabelle; it sounds like of daring and racy!

      Imagine how hard it is to name a child as all these names remind you of someone!?!

  3. Green Mamma Says:

    I like Shiloh too, though it makes me think of a Jolie-Pitt kid, 🙂

    Still, it’s a great name.

  4. Our boys suggested “Shiloh,” and it made me think of the book, “A Dog Name Shiloh,” and it has Native American Heritage. Then, someone reminded me of Brangelina’s child . . .

  5. Audrey Says:

    The horse is really pretty. When I’ve listened to horse races on t.v. I’m always pleasantly surprised at the great names. I don’t have any suggestions other than something bold and strong sounding.

  6. Lauren Says:

    I’m partial to Ella … but I really like the suggestion of Jezzabelle!
    Hope she is still doing well, I found out some info on weaning for you, we’ll have to chat tonight! Can’t wait to see the whole Rose crew!
    xoxo
    ~Lauren

    • Lauren, thanks for your comments! There are so many good names out there and we appreciate everyone’s ideas.

      We can’t believe how much the filly has grown already. I put together a movie as a surprise to Al from pix in just the last week and she has g-r-o-w-n! Do we really have to think about weaning? Can’t we just let nature run its course?

      The “baby” I nursed for so long is 6’5″ and I expect the same will be true for Annabelle’s filly with her mother’s milk!

  7. I like Shiloh. What an adorable horse!

  8. Absolutely beautiful horses!

    I vote for Bella.

  9. Jennifer Says:

    She is beautiful! I like Isabelle.

  10. blueviolet Says:

    I like Ella but they’re all nice!

  11. drahdrah Says:

    Beauty sounds great.

  12. Vicki Says:

    I like Isabelle

  13. Anissa Says:

    I would name her Shiloh! Beautiful picture.

  14. Becca Says:

    Sally came to mind for some reason, don’t know why!

  15. Love the Belle or Bella like Mom’s name.

  16. Tara Says:

    I like Bella or Ella

  17. Rob Says:

    I would name her Fred or George. Since that is not a choice, I vote Ella as in Cinder.


Leave a Reply

