Musings of an everyday woman . . .

Reflections on living and loving life . . .

First Native Tomatoes! July 6, 2009

Filed under: Gardening,Living Green — everydaywomanusa @ 11:15 am
Tags: ,

DSCF4929

OK, they may not be perfectly beautiful, but they’re native!

Every year, my family has a good-natured competition to see who can pick the first native tomatoes before the 4th of July, so it looks like I won!

I guess it probably helped that the tomato plants I put in the ground were HUGE and already had green tomatoes on them!

Can’t wait for native tomatoes and sweet corn to be flowing freely, sometime soon. . . can’t beat a better summer supper!

NEWS FLASH…………..My Mom called last night to say she’d picked her first two ripe tomatoes in a neighboring town.  Told you we had a “healthy competition” going on here!  (I had given her a big plant with green tomatoes already on it for Mother’s Day, hoping she’d get some early tomatoes, her favorite food.)

 

5 Responses to “First Native Tomatoes!”

  1. Christiane Says:

    We were lucky enough to get tomatoes in our CSA baskets two weeks ago… nothing better than a “real” tomato!
    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog.

  2. Jena Says:

    Lol, I think all this canning is getting to me. All I see in that picture is the feeling of sticky pulp on my arms and a paring knife in my hand. Ugg.

    Congrats on being first though! 😉

    • As much as we enjoy them fresh, I really should think about canning some tomatoes and sauce, once they’re in good supply. I tell you, your generation puts some of us to shame with all the food preservation you do!

  3. Green Mamma Says:

    We’re still waiting on our tomatoes to ripen! Wow, yours are fast!


Leave a Reply

