Musings of an everyday woman . . .

Reflections on living and loving life . . .

Laryngitis. . . July 6, 2009

Filed under: Health — everydaywomanusa @ 8:42 am
Tags:

I’m in my third day of not being able to talk above a whisper, and anyone who knows me knows that NOT being able to talk is a severe hardship for me!

It started at a smoky fireworks party on Friday night and continued through a weekend of attending three parties and hosting one.  I’m thinking it’s environmental (a reaction to the smoke), but I also know it’s my weak spot, when I overdo and “undersleep” (pretty sure that’s not a real word), I end up losing my voice.  It usually happens twice a year, but never in the summer.  Maybe it’s just too much partying!

I’m going to try to keep quiet today . . . right!  My kids  say, “Mom, just don’t talk!”  (Easier said than done!)  Secretly, I think my DH is enjoying it . . .

Does anyone out there have any family/secret remedies to soothe a sore throat and to bring a voice back?

 

9 Responses to “Laryngitis. . .”

  1. Lauren Says:

    Hope you feel better Ruth! Good old Advil plus tea with honey is the only thing that ever works for me!
    The girls loved visiting with Isabelle yesterday, I couldn’t get Alex to leave, she even refused ice cream because she wanted to stay and watch the baby horse!

  2. lmarea3070 Says:

    My throat was killing me after grilling this weekend. I had laryngitis during my trip to visit family. I lost my voice on the road for 2 days. I have allergies up the wazoo and I’m planning on seeing the allergists for shots.

    • It’s so funny that “stop talking” is the advice I always receive from my closest family members . . . LOL! Like, that’s going to happen! Your brothers told me the same thing….as well as your Dad!

  3. Dotty Bavin Says:

    The following is guaranteed!
    Get 8 hours of sleep in your bed – a sofa nap does not count
    Hot tea with a tablespoon of both honey and whiskey
    Keep your sweet mouth shut for 8 hours
    Stop being wonder woman!

    Only a sister who loves you can tell the truth!

    • Thanks, sis, but we both know that me shutting my mouth for 8 hours is as impossible as you doing the same!

      As for the sleep and tea & honey, perhaps that will do the trick! Thanks for the advice, Wonder Woman!!!!

      Hugs,
      Ruth

  4. Jena Says:

    I’m sorry, no family secret remedy here. Maybe if you weren’t so wild with all those parties lately!

  5. Kayla Says:

    Oh no! Feel better soon!


Leave a Reply

