Musings of an everyday woman . . .

Reflections on living and loving life . . .

Sea Glass Jewelry: Re-purposed Materials July 11, 2009

Filed under: Fashion,Living Green — everydaywomanusa @ 10:37 am
Tags: , ,

DSCF4234

I’ve been working a bit lately with creating jewelry from re-purposed materials, namely sea glass, combined with crystals and beads,  from “used” pieces of jewelry.  What fun!  I’ve also enjoyed wearing some of the finished projects.

Here, I used some green sea glass and the coveted blue sea glass (much rarer around here) to put together a necklace and earring set, which I sported recently at a wedding we attended. I wrapped the sea glass with sterling silver wire and used some crystals and beads I had on hand.  It’s amazing what you can do with some good, little pliers! The colors were perfect with the blue/green sea shades of my dress.  I’ll apologize in advance for that bit of cleavage showing; my own kids say that no one really wants to see that!

DSCF4128

Now that summer’s here, I hope to carve out a bit more time for jewelry making, as well as another favorite creative pursuit: writing.  What hobbies do you enjoy?  If you could do anything other than “work,” for pleasure, what would it be?

 

2 Responses to “Sea Glass Jewelry: Re-purposed Materials”

  1. Kayla Says:

    Love the necklace! I’m so glad Aaron’s mom bid on a necklace of yours for me at the fashion show!

  2. Thanks, Kayla!!! Your Eco-fashion show was SO much fun. I had fun making that “green” jewelry and I know you look GREAT in it! Aaron’s Mom must be as thoughtful as him!


Leave a Reply

