Musings of an everyday woman . . .

Reflections on living and loving life . . .

Aloha Friday #13 July 24, 2009

Filed under: Aloha Friday,Books — everydaywomanusa @ 9:23 am
Tags: , ,

It’s Friday, so that means it’s time for . . .

My “Aloha Friday” question this week is: 

 WHAT’S  YOUR RECOMMENDATION

FOR A GOOD SUMMER READ?

As for me, I’m usually catching up with “educational literature” over the summer and  just finished re-reading Jonathan Kozol’s Savage Inequalities, which exposes the extreme differences between wealth and poverty in America’s school system.

For a light, fun, beach read, I’m just finishing Elin Hilderbrand’s The Beach Club.  She’s got a bunch of nice, light summer titles that you might enjoy.

If you’d like to participate in more Aloha Friday questions, click on over to  An Island Life for Kailani’s  “Aloha Friday.” 

 

 

15 Responses to “Aloha Friday #13”

  1. Confessions of a shopaholic.

  2. Audrey Says:

    Anything by JD Robb/Nora Roberts. She has never disappointed me.

  3. Jeremy Says:

    Most of what I read deals with my profession. You probably wouldn’t like it. 🙂 I need to read more “fun” books though.

  4. Sues2u2 Says:

    The Kris Longknife series by Mike Shephard. It starts w/ Mutineer. Very good.

  5. Right now, I’m reading “The Vanishing Face of Gaia,” but it’s not a summer read necessarily. I’m more into heavy science nonfiction, so I’m probably not the one to ask!

  6. Becca Says:

    I highly recommend James Patterson and Patricia Cornwell.

  7. O gosh wish I could help out I haven’t been able to pick up a book since my 4th child arrive

    Sorry

  8. Kailani Says:

    I love reading chick lit during the summer. I’m really looking forward to reading the new Sophie Kinsella book.

  9. Kailani~
    It’s great to hear from you! Thanks so much for your suggestion and for INVENTING Aloha Friday in the first place! It is so much fun!

    Ruth


Leave a Reply

