Musings of an everyday woman . . .

Reflections on living and loving life . . .

Sunday Stroll: “Fruits of Our Labor” July 26, 2009

Filed under: Farm,Gardening,Summer,Sunday Stroll — everydaywomanusa @ 9:36 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Finally, we’re enjoying the fruits of our labor in the garden, especially native sweet corn and tomatoes!

DSCF4727

DSCF5159

 DSCF5411

I can remember when, growing up,  my Mom would say she could live off fresh-picked corn and native tomatoes during the summer, and now I know what she means!  A simple summer supper doesn’t get much better than corn-on-the-cob and tomatoes!

Everyday couple of days, we’ve been having rainstorms that bring another couple inches of rain, but the sun has managed to shine in between.  Still, many of our native vegetables have been running late, but are a welcome sight when they arrive!

DSCF5331

The pickling cukes are ripe, as well as broccoli. . .

DSCF5332

The peaches are soaking up the rain and some early varieties should be ripe by the end of the month . . .

DSCF5340

The pears are taking on nice size . . .

DSCF5333

The hydrangeas are blooming, in all their glory . . .

DSCF5081

DSCF5080

At first, the Rose of Sharon buds were just promises on the bushes . . .

DSCF5084

. . . and then the very first bloom appeared . . .

DSCF5082

. . . and, today, just a few days after that very first blossom, we are graced with numerous purple/pink flowers, which adorn our poolside gardens . . .

DSCF5489

DSCF5490

What’s growing in your garden?  How has the weather affected you?

To see who else is strolling today, click on:   The Quiet Country House.

 

14 Responses to “Sunday Stroll: “Fruits of Our Labor””

  1. Aisling Says:

    Yum! I want to invite myself over for corn and tomatoes! Our corn is just past ankle high… We are having a terrible year, weather wise, for growing vegetables. Even the professional farmers are not having the best success… and our home garden is struggling. It has been cool and rainy, for the most part, without enough warmth and sunshine to spur vigorous growth. Your fruits and veggies look wonderful!

    Love the rose of sharon too! Thank you for sharing!

  2. Aisling~you’re welcome anytime!

    Actually, this is our early corn, which was still quite late. We planted a HUGE haymaze at the farm, and after re-planting sections that didn’t come up due to too much rain (probably the seeds rotted), we’re worried that it won’t be big enough by fall.

    We have corn at all different levels of maturity, but it’s all behind due to the rain. Last night, we got another 2 inches, which seems to be a twice- or thrice-weekly occurence!

    Good luck with your summer studies! This is the first summer that I haven’t taken classes in a long time . . . but that will come to an end when I start a doctoral program in the fall. I’ve really been enjoying this summer: no fancy vacations, but I’ve been enjoying my own backyard, as well as doing some curriculum work and technology training for school.

    My daughter said the other day that she thinks advertisements for “back-to-school” should be banned in July, but guess what I found myself shopping for the other day ? I bet you’re the same!

  3. Wow, you have a beautiful garden! Where in the hemisphere are you? Am envious …

    The corn looks absolutely yummy!

    • Thanks so much for stopping by!

      We’re in the Northern hemisphere > North America > United States > East Coast.

      It’s been extremely wet here, but the growing season is good.

      As we speak, I’m shucking corn for supper, and have a pot of boiling water ready . . .

      Enjoyed reading about your writing lifestyle on your blog!

  4. Heather Says:

    I’m so jealous of those tomatoes! Mine are still weeks away.

    • The tomatoes are still a bit sparse, certainly not enough for sauce or canning yet . . . but there are a choice few for salads and sandwiches.

      I’m sure you’ll be enjoying yours before long . . .

  5. Jena Says:

    Mmm, all that food looks great. We’ve had a lot of rain the past 2 or 3 weeks now and I can see it affecting our crops, big and small. It has to dry up in order for us to get the wheat off, if we don’t get it off soon it will start sprouting and that’s no good. I’m not too worried because we’ve got pretty good crop insurance on that. My garlic in the garden is not drying up as fast as I think it should considering we’re almost at the end of July. I might have to dig up some soon just to make sure it isn’t all rotting. Otherwise the garden is growing great -but so are the weeds! 🙂

    • Jena~ You’re smart to take out crop insurance . . . I don’t believe we ever got into that here.

      You’re right about the weeds; they seem to grow TWICE as fast as anything else!!!

  6. You know the hydrangeas are my favorite. And I’ve been really enjoying tomato sandwiches lately!

  7. Your hydrangeas are SO MUCH MORE prolific than mine! I’ve got to plant more “Endless Summer” variety!

    Your Mema would be proud of you with the tomato sandwiches!

  8. margaret Says:

    So, so true about corn and tomatoes–the perfect summer meal! How I envy you those gorgeous pears…Had trees on the property where I grew up. I really should plant some!
    Thanks for a lovely stroll.

  9. Margaret~Thanks for stopping by!

    I know you’re enjoying corn in your summer meals, too!

  10. Kayla Says:

    That all looks so great! A garden like that must be so rewarding!


Leave a Reply

