Musings of an everyday woman . . .

Reflections on living and loving life . . .

Heart in My Throat . . . July 30, 2009

Filed under: Reflections — everydaywomanusa @ 5:10 pm
Tags: , , , ,

That’s how I felt the other day;  it was very emotional.

I was just leaving school (yes, I’m one of those dorky teachers who goes into school over the summer to work), and I saw this field of flags . . . hundreds of flags flowing softly in the summer breeze.  I just knew I had to stop for a closer look. . .

DSCF5530

It was such a somber sight . . .

DSCF5529

This “Field of Flags” is a traveling memorial for every American who died in the line of service in Iraq and Afghanitan.  Each flag represents a person’s ultimate sacrifice—there were 5,061 of them!

DSCF5528

An accompanying board listed each person, his/her hometown, branch of service, and date of death.

DSCF5531

The sad thing, this memorial is growing.  There were 5,061 casualties as of July 15.  It reminded me of another time, during the Vietnam War, when each night on the evening news, we heard the death count. . . each and every day.

DSCF5532

I lingered for a bit, offering a silent prayer for each of these brave souls and for their families and friends, who must live without them.  I felt like my heart was in my throat. . . and then I realized that someone behind me was probably sharing the same kind of thoughts.  A former Marine was cruising by on his motorcycle and noticed the flag display, too.  He stopped to give his condolences and to sign the guest book, as I did.  He was wearing a vest with various Marine regalia on it.  I found myself thanking him for his service to our country and offering to take his photo with the flags.  He was very appreciative of the gesture and said his family in Ohio, where he was from, would enjoy that photo.

DSCF5534

At that point, I just felt so reflective and grateful for these soldiers, but at the same time, I also felt grateful that I wasn’t a mother to one of them. . . and I  felt a bit guilty for that, too.   A a parent, this has to be the ultimate loss . . . the los of one’s child, no matter how noble the circumstances . . .

 

4 Responses to “Heart in My Throat . . .”

  1. I’m glad you caught it on film (er, uh, digital memory). I didn’t know such a memorial existed.

  2. Yeh, I had heard about it last summer, but missed it. It moves through area towns, “visiting” for about a week at each place. It was quite a sight/site to come upon.

  3. Jena Says:

    That is a good idea, I’m sure it was a stunning sight. Our neighbor’s daughter married a man in the service last year. They were together in Germany for awhile and now she has come back home since he’s been sent to Iraq. I don’t think she was too worried at first because her husband is a mechanic. She expected him to stay on the bases where it is safer but as it turns out he has to go out on missions to maintain the equipment. We’ll be praying for them.

  4. Ruth Says:

    I’ll be praying for them, too, and all who serve our country. I can’t imagine that there’s anywhere “safe” over there.

    My cousin, a father of four, and a dentist here (around my age) just returned from Iraq. I can just imagine how relieved his wife and family are to have him back. Not everyone is as lucky . . .

    All the best to your friends there.


Leave a Reply

