Musings of an everyday woman . . .

Reflections on living and loving life . . .

ALOHA FRIDAY # 14 July 31, 2009

Filed under: Aloha Friday,Summer — everydaywomanusa @ 9:05 am
Tags: , ,

 It’s Friday again already, so that means it’s time for . . .

My “Aloha Friday” question this week is: 

 WHAT ARE YOU DOING TO KEEP COOL

DURING THESE “DOG DAYS” OF SUMMER?

DSCF5561

Or, perhaps, you’re not even in the “dog days” where you are!

If you’d like to participate in more Aloha Friday questions, click on over to  An Island Life for Kailani’s  “Aloha Friday.” 

 

 

21 Responses to “ALOHA FRIDAY # 14”

  1. Janet F Says:

    I can’t stand the hot days!

    I drink a lot of ice water.

  2. Ice water works for me! I also love to cover my body in water: pool, beach, wherever, keep wet!

  3. I can’t believe Eddie let Duke so close to his back legs!

    I keep cool by watching tv in the AC. I know it’s not great for the environment, but we keep the AC around 80 just to get rid of the humidity.

    • I think Eddie was too hot to care! That’s how the two dogs spent pretty much all of yesterday . . . laying on the deck in the shade with water nearby . . . moving a little as possible!

      They didn’t even have the energy to drag themselves to the pond or river for a dip!!!

    • Just remember how your “froze your buns this winter!” Enjoy the heat now; it’s for free!

  4. blueviolet Says:

    This is probably one of the coolest summers we’ve had but on the humid days, I just stay indoors in the a/c

  5. Becca Says:

    Cute doggies. The hottest temp here has been about 80 so it isn’t too bad. I just dress for warm weather.

  6. shelly Says:

    I try to stay inside in the air conditioning! I’m not a big heat fan. Though I will take my kiddo out to the pool for a few hours. Thanks for dropping by my blog today!

  7. Jena Says:

    I just said to hubby yesterday, you know it is sad that we’re almost in to August and the dogs still haven’t been to the pond yet. He said it hasn’t exactly been hot out, and he’s right. We had a few weeks of really hot weather to start and then it was a cold and rainy for a long time. Things are looking up now.

    I’m a sucker for iced tea and drink that all day long. I always change in to comfy, cool clothes when I get home. On the really hot days it is comfy shorts, bathing suit top, and sandals. The animals get fresh water a lot when the weather is hot, as well as extra shade when they need it.

    • Ruth Says:

      We’ve really had to relish the sunny, hot days here as we’ve had a lot of cooler weather and rain, too! Tonight we have a bit of a twister with even more rain!

      I’d live in a bathingsuit, if I could, but would probably have to hear a lot of complaints from the “fam.”

      You’re always the best in making your animals comfy, I know that! I joked with my husband that he’d do anything to keep his “girls” cool, and by that I mean his new Mother Shire and Baby Filly. He’s set up a sprinkler for them in the pasture and huge fans in their barn for nightime.

      • Ruth Says:

        I, too, love iced tea. I’ve given up carbonated drinks and find ice water and ice tea much more of a thirst-quencher.

  8. Stacie Says:

    LOL What dog days of summer? We aren’t having much of a summer here. It’s been cool and dry. We have been swimming and using the slip and slide.

  9. Kailani Says:

    I run my a/c 24/7! LOL!

  10. Ruth Says:

    Kailani~

    So GOOD to hear from you!!! Thanks so much for stopping by and thanks, too, for creating “Aloha Friday!” Everyone loves it!

    I can imagine that you NEED your AC 24/7 in the summer in Hawaii! I’m sure you’ve a way HOTTER than New England!

    P.S. LOVE that icon of you and your two little ones!

  11. Audrey Says:

    We really have not had too warm of days. Our temps have been really mild.

  12. I love when I have any excuse to go out for fro-yo or visit the local Dairy Queen …

  13. Awesome post. I love dogs hehe.

  14. Thanks, N.D.! Me, too!


Leave a Reply

