Musings of an everyday woman . . .

Reflections on living and loving life . . .

Aloha Friday # 15 August 14, 2009

Filed under: Aloha Friday,Recycling — everydaywomanusa @ 8:00 am
Tags: , ,

It’s Friday again, so that means it’s time for . . .

My “Aloha Friday” question this week is: 

 WHAT DOES ALL THE BACK-TO-SCHOOL

HOOPLA MEAN TO YOU???

As a kid, it meant summer was over for me.  Later, as a mother, it meant saying good-bye to summer fun and getting my kids equipped for a new, exciting, school year.  Now, as a teacher, my summer has pretty much been over for a couple of weeks as I’ve been in school, planning for the new school year.  As much as I love summer, I also love the deliciousness of a new school year, with new beginnings for all . . .

If you’d like to participate in more Aloha Friday questions, click on over to  An Island Life for Kailani’s  “Aloha Friday.” 

 

 

13 Responses to “Aloha Friday # 15”

  1. Back to school means fall and everything I love about the season! By mid-August, I’m getting bored at home and I’m ready to get back in the classroom. I also love all the apples, pumpkins, hayrides, foliage and fairs in the fall. If I didn’t like summer, spring and winter so much, I’d say fall was my favorite season!

  2. None of the kids are in school yet so all it really means to me these days is that fall is coming, which is a good thing for sure – I love the fall season!

  3. Becca Says:

    It means getting to see the kids at work again 🙂

  4. It makes me just a little sad. My son is going to be in first grade, so him being in school is still relatively new for me. I’m going to miss him when he’s gone all day again!

    • Andrea~
      I found the transition from K to 1st grade a big adjustment, mostly for me! I missed my kids, too, but the time just goes so quickly . . . If you have younger children, it gives you extra special time with them, though!

  5. Jena Says:

    Right now it doesn’t affect me too much, at least not directly. It may mean that I go back to working 5 days a week instead of 4 when the part-time girls go back to college. Around the farm it is like we’re taking a deep breath before the busiest time of year gets here. I’ll be canning like crazy in a couple weeks and Brian won’t get much sleep for a few months once we start the harvest. I’m holding on to these last few weeks! 🙂

    Were you taking classes yourself this summer or did you get a break?

    • Jena~
      I know what you mean . . . we’re going to miss our high-school and college kids who work at the farm market once they’re back in school.

      The fall is our busiest time, with harvest and all, so we’re gearing up for that, which means, usually, that I get to work weekends on the farm, after school all week long!

      I actually didn’t take classes this summer, but I continued to do curriculum work for school. In September, I’m starting work on my Doctorate in Educational Leadership; not sure how I’m going to fit all that work into an already jam-packed schedule, but where there’s a will, there’s a way!

      Ruth

  6. Kailani Says:

    For me it means peace and quiet. It also gives me time to get things ready for baby #3 due in October!

  7. Jacob Says:

    It means getting to see the kids at work again :); It means getting to see the kids at work again :);;

  8. It means time to get your child ready for school and then when i was a child it meant..oh man! summer is almost done I gotta hurry up and do more things!

  9. Sues2u2 Says:

    Our back to school hoopla is over & done! Kids started back last Wed so… But the school hoopla to us is usually who has who for a teacher. School supplies are typically bought the year before & then supplemented after the supplies go on clearance.


Leave a Reply

