Musings of an everyday woman . . .

Reflections on living and loving life . . .

MY DREAM HAS COME TRUE!!! August 27, 2009

Filed under: Adventures,Baby!,Family — everydaywomanusa @ 6:13 am
Tags: , ,

Phew!  Finally, I can tell a secret that I’ve been asked to keep for far too long . . . like all summer!

I’M GOING TO BE A GRANDMOTHER!!!!  (Did you hear me screaming this, because I was?!?!)  Screaming with delight and happiness.

All of this is due to two very special people: our daughter, Abbie, (aka Farmer’s Daughter) and her loving husband (and our wonderful son-in-law) Ed . . .

Here, Ed and Abbie are showing off ultrasound pictures of their future, little bundle of joy!

Here, Ed and Abbie are showing off ultrasound pictures of their future, little bundle of joy!

As you can see Abbie is absolutely beaming, glowing, whatever it is pregnant women do (when they’re not throwing up, etc.!)  Actually, she’s been feeling GREAT, thank goodness!

DSCF5973

And, well, yes of course, the two grandmothers-to-be have been acting just a little bit crazy.  You see, we were asked to keep quiet about this until a reasonable time was decided on by Abbie and Ed for the official announcement.  These kids are much more reasonable than the “grannies-to-be!”

DSCF5971

The three lucky great-grandmothers are pretty excited too.  I hear they’re calling everyone they know. . . and probably telling the guy at the gas station and people at the grocery story, too,  . . . oh, no, wait, that’s the crazy grandmothers, Mom Marie (Mimi) and me (grandmother name still to be decided)!

Well, as I’m basking in this wonderful news, if you want to find out all the technical details—and read Abbie’s cliffhanger “Love Story” — click on over to Farmer’s Daughter and her new blog, “Country Baby.”  She’s just opened that blog up to the public, but we crazy grandmothers have been commenting right along on that, so you may just want to skip all our crazy comments.

Oh . . . just wondering . . . do you think I’m crazy because I told the lovely woman at the drive-up window at Dunkin’ Donuts this morning?  When she asked how I was doing today, I asked if she’d like to hear some really great news and I think I pretty much screamed, “I’M GOING TO BE A GRANDMOTHER!”  Um, they already knew I was a little bit nuts, anyway.

CONGRATULATIONS ABBIE AND ED!  WE ARE SO HAPPY FOR YOU AND WE KNOW YOU’LL MAKE WONDERFUL PARENTS!!!  WE’RE ALSO EXTREMELY HAPPY FOR US!!!!!!!!!

 

13 Responses to “MY DREAM HAS COME TRUE!!!”

  1. Haha! You were dying to tell everyone! Glad you finally could.

  2. […] MY DREAM HAS COME TRUE!!! […]

  3. Jessica Says:

    Congratulations!!! That’s great news!! Now you’re going to have someone to spoil and dote on..

  4. Thanks for making us all so happy!

    Have fun telling all your friends and colleagues, too!

    Good luck with your first day of school today.

    Mom

  5. Cloudhands Says:

    You go Granny! You are going to have so much fun. Grandchildren are gifts of the spirit and a wonder to get to know. You thought you enjoyed your children, wait till you have their children grab your heart and run with it. Sheer joy.

  6. mimiwalston Says:

    Hi Gram, how about Mema, you look like a Mema, it fits you?
    I am so happy that we can share the news with everyone. This is truly a beautiful gift , and all because two people fell in love!
    Just keep on shouting and sharing Mema, we have earned the right since we were so good about keeping quiet.
    Cheers!
    Mimi

    • Mimi,

      Yes, we are SO lucky that two people fell in love and that they’re OUR two children! This is going to be SO MUCH FUN going through this with you!

      I do love the name MEMA, but that’s what our children call my Mom, and I know there’s only ONE Mema in their books!

      I do aspire to be the kind of Mema/Grandma she is, though! My children have had worlds of fun with her!

      Hugs,
      Grandmama/Grandmom/Grandmommy????

  7. […] case you didn’t hear the GREAT NEWS, I’m going to be a grandmother, and I’ve just over the moon with happiness.  Catch up here with that news flash.  So . . […]

  8. Jack Says:

    Congratulations to you and your family on this wonderful, life-changing news. For a little extra inspiration, I invite you to check out this short video — ahamoment.com/pg/moments/view/1534 — about the aha moment of one new grandma. Hope you like it and that you’ll also check out the rest of the site, created by Mutual of Omaha to highlight inspirational stories and aha moments of all kinds. There are some great personal stories. Hope you enjoy.

    Thanks,
    jack@ahamoment.com

  9. Jena Says:

    (i’ll use your caps as it seems appropriate)… CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! 🙂

    • Thanks, Jena!!! Whenever I use CAPS, Abbie says to stop yelling at her, but you just know I’m SCREAMING WITH EXCITEMENT and I know you are, too!

      Hugs,
      Ruth (Your “other mother” because I think you and Abbie are really “sisters” at heart!)


Leave a Reply

