Musings of an everyday woman . . .

Reflections on living and loving life . . .

Aloha Friday #16–Fun, “Young” Grandmother Names? August 28, 2009

Filed under: Aloha Friday,Baby! — everydaywomanusa @ 7:10 am
Tags: , ,

It’s Friday again, so that means it’s time for . . .

In case you didn’t hear the GREAT NEWS, I’m going to be a grandmother, and I’ve just over the moon with happiness.  Catch up here with that news flash.  So . . .

My “Aloha Friday” question this week is: 

 DO YOU HAVE ANY SUGGESTIONS FOR SOME FUN, **YOUNG** GRANDMOTHER NAMES???

(I know it’s the first grandchild who usually names

the grandparents, and I’m thinking I can help him/her along!)

 If you’d like to participate in more Aloha Friday questions, click on over to  An Island Life for Kailani’s  “Aloha Friday.” 

 

 

19 Responses to “Aloha Friday #16–Fun, “Young” Grandmother Names?”

  1. Harriet Says:

    Congrats!
    Hhhmmmm…not sure about a young grandmother name though.

    Have a great Friday!
    http://iamharriet.blogspot.com/2009/08/waiting-for-weather-to-cooperate.html

  2. nafyboocs Says:

    Congratulations.

    My mom goes by grandmama (like the Adams Family) and my MIL goes by Nana. Not sure how young either of those sounds to you though.

  3. Jennifer Says:

    I have no idea. My mother informed me 17 years ago she wanted to be called “Nana”.

  4. So, I guess Nana stuck? Nice!

  5. Stefany Says:

    My mom is called BeBe. 🙂

  6. mikaroni Says:

    My mom’s mom decided that “Grandmother” or “Grandma” both sounded too stuffy for her, so we called her Gram. I think she decided that Grandpa should be Gramp, too!

  7. angie Says:

    i am nana and my kids called theirs ninny

  8. blueviolet Says:

    I never used anything but Grandma and Grandpa. How boring! I need to think of some too!

  9. Swoozie Says:

    We are a grandma and grandpa kind of family—although my 3 year old son is now calling my mom “Grammy” which cracks me up!

    Anyway, congratulations on becoming a grandma (soon!).

  10. Becca Says:

    I call my grandma Nana but Gram sounds young…as do most names in other languages lol

  11. Audrey Says:

    My own mom is nana. I don’t yet have grandkids. When I do, I’ll use a foreign name, not the typical “grandma”

  12. mellisa rock Says:

    We have a nana, grammy, and gi….not sure where gi came from but have seen it on scrapbooking paper…so can’t be to uncommon.

  13. OK – I saw one the other day that I had never heard before. “Grandy” I really like it. 🙂

  14. Pamela Says:

    I am a first time grandma at of today! Excited – Yes! Feel too young to be called Grandma – Yes! How do you “come up with a name”? What a funny issue… I hadn’t thought about until now.

  15. Congrats to YOU! How wonderful! It’s the baby who names you, but perhaps you could plant a seed of an idea!!!


Leave a Reply

