Musings of an everyday woman . . .

Reflections on living and loving life . . .

How they told us . . . August 29, 2009

Filed under: Baby!,Family — everydaywomanusa @ 7:57 am
Tags: , , ,

On the evening of July 19th, Abbie (aka Farmer’s Daughter) calls and asks if we’re going to be home, because she and Ed would like to stop by for a bit on their way to his parents for his Mom’s birthday celebration.

“Okay, sure, we’re home. . . out by the pool.”

When they arrive, Abbie asks when Dad is getting home and where her brother is.  I answered that they were probably feeding the horses and would be home sometime . . .

Still not getting suspiscious or anything . . . making small talk. . .

When the immediate family has gathered (just Abbie’s parents and siblings), she reaches into her bag and hands me this book:

DSCF5977

I start screaming, jumping up and down, clapping my hands, pretty much making a fool of myself.  (I had a bathingsuit on, so I’m sure it was NOT a pretty sight.)

My husband and sons are looking at me, like, OK, we know Mom’s crazy and all, but what the heck?

Then, I blurt out, “You can’t let the grandparents name the baby!” and show the guys the book.

“Um, Mom,” Abbie says, “That’s a book of names for GRANDPARENTS!”

“Oh, right. . . “***still jumping up and down with joy***”I knew that!  How exciting!”

I’m totally giddy and reveling in joy and a million thoughts are swirling through my head (when? boy/girl? my baby girl is having a baby!/etc./etc.) and Abbie’s father says something so composed, like “I know that you two will make wonderful parents!”

I had been waiting for this time for a while and really didn’t expect it when it came. . . and then, they tell me that I can’t tell ANYONE, until they decide the time is right, like September 1st! 

All I could think is “How will I ever keep my mouth shut?”

Then, they were off to Ed’s family to give that same book to his Mom for her birthday. What a gift that was for Marie, too. . . . and the two grandmas-to-be have been crazy with joy ever since!  Right, Mimi?

 DSCF5971

 

8 Responses to “How they told us . . .”

  1. Aisling Says:

    You’re cute. What a lucky baby this will be, withsuch a wonderful family to welcome him or her. 🙂

  2. Amber Says:

    I wasn’t completely clear on the concept of the book, either, so you’re not alone.

    I love how excited everyone is for Abbie’s baby. This is going to be one very special little person, for sure. 🙂

  3. Amber,

    Thanks for stopping by! Just LOVE your blog, your insight into motherhood and the world of work. Especially enjoyed your “Are you busy?” post!

  4. Green Mamma Says:

    Congratulations again! A baby really is a family adventure, and Abbie and Ed are going to need all the help they can get, 🙂 They’re so lucky to have a good, large family like yours. I can’t wait to hear/ “read” more about the baby adventures . . .


Leave a Reply

