Musings of an everyday woman . . .

Reflections on living and loving life . . .

A Baby Blue Pumpkin! October 14, 2009

Filed under: Baby! — everydaywomanusa @ 7:35 pm
Tags: , ,

This is how they told us . . .

DSCF6556

Get it?  It’s a BOY!!!

Abbie had her 18-week ultrasound on Monday.  The grandparents-to-be converged on Abbie and Ed Monday night to share in the good news.  (We did bring dinner, though!)  They kept us guessing, but Abbie had created these beautiful, glittery pumpkins and handed one to each grandma.  Woohoo!

I was thinking “girl” for the longest time because they guys kept saying “BOY!”  As long as everyone’s healthy, it really doesn’t matter, but we’re delighted with our little pumpkin of a boy to be!!!

Here’s the happy parents-to-be with the very crazy grandparents-to-be . . .

Grandparents

I’m not even going to promise to calm down and behave, because I’m pretty sure that’s not even possible, right Grandma Marie/Mimi?

 

16 Responses to “A Baby Blue Pumpkin!”

  1. Congratulations Ruth. 🙂

  2. Pat Says:

    Congratulations girlfriend. Now we can compare notes! It’s a very exciting time. Can’t wait for our new little boy to arrive in a couple of weeks in Florida. Can’t wait to meet him. I love him already 🙂

  3. Marie Says:

    HI Grammie Ruth:
    I surpassed Cloud Nine 2 months ago, I am on Cloud Twenty Nine. We are all so excited. Yes, we are guilty of converging, but we did bring dinner and we cleaned up so I think we were not too overbearing! Let’s face it Ruth, there is no chance of either one of us being calm or behaving, no matter how hard we try, but we will have to at least TRY after the wee one gets here or his Mom and Dad might have to sit us down and give us a talking to!!!!! Oh well, we will cross that bridge when we get to it, in the meantime we are high on the joys of being Grandmoms. How lucky are we? Looking forward to taking the girls and going shopping next month. Do you think “blue pumpkin” knows how much we love him already?

    Mimi

    • Mimi~So glad we can be crazy grandmothers together! Can’t think of anyone I’d rather share this privilege with!

      I’ll be thinking of you over the next few days; good luck with everything!

  4. Thanks, Jena and Pat. You’ll just have to put up with me; I may be a littler crazier than usual!

    Pat~I’m SO glad Jen is doing so well. I know you’ll be welcoming a new little grandson into the world soon! All the best to you all! Seamus will have to share the love, but I know there’s more than enough to go around!

    I think expecting a grandbaby is almost better than being pregnant ourselves!

  5. Rosanne Says:

    CONGRATS!!! I can’t believe all three of us have BOYS for our FIRST grandchildren!!! They are the best (no offense to all of our girls out there!).

    Looking forward to seeing you next week and sharing all of this! I’ll have lots of pics of Will to share, too.

    • I know, it’s strange how everything is “coming up” boys! I was sure it was a girl and I do hope, someday for Abbie to have that wonderful mother/daughter that we have shared, too, with a baby girl!

      Having her first was wonderful; boy or girl, it really doesn’t matter, as long as we have a healthy baby to love—and spoil!

  6. Dotty Bavin Says:

    We were so delighted that all was well at the last check up and know that amid the excitement that is all that really matters. You can imagine; but will not experience the absolute joy of being —— (name TBD), until you hold that precious bundle in your arms. The unconditional love that grandchildren provide is an amazing gift!

    • Dot~~I totally agree; I was just so relieved to hear that everything’s good with Mom and baby. Gender doesn’t really matter at all; it just adds in the excitement of it really feeling real!

      Plus, it makes it so much easier to buy cute little baby outfits; as long as the drs. are right!

      We’re off today to buy some baby blue yarn, or green/yellow, who knows? Probably just not pink! Not this time!

  7. Rosanne Says:

    I notice Abbie has a BLUE shirt on in the pic – should have been a hint?!

  8. Thanks, Jessica! A new friend for Levi, perhaps?

  9. Kayla Says:

    Awww what a cute way to tell you! Congratulations on your future grandson 🙂 🙂

  10. I’ve given your blog an award! Come over to my blog to check it out!

  11. Lisa Says:

    Congrats!! And the blue pumpkin is such a cute idea.


Leave a Reply

