Musings of an everyday woman . . .

Reflections on living and loving life . . .

ALOHA FRIDAY #22: Are you doing the “Black Friday” thing? November 27, 2009

Filed under: Adventures,Aloha Friday,Holidays — everydaywomanusa @ 9:49 am
Tags: ,

Just wondering, how many people ventured out, after “stuffing yourself” with turkey and trimmings for midnight shopping, etc.?  Some friends I know start at midnight or even at 4 am, in search of good deals. 

So, my “Aloha Friday” question this Friday after Thanksgiving is . . .

Are you doing the “Black Friday” thing?  If so, did you find any great deals?

 If you’d like to participate in more Aloha Friday questions, click on over to  An Island Life for Kailani’s  “Aloha Friday

As for me, I think I’ll do some online shopping today; try to get some of my “mountain” of coursework done; perhaps start some Christmas decorating; and yes, I do have to go do some usual errands later in the day.  I’ll see what the crowds are like.

Whatever you’re doing on this day after Thanksgiving, ENJOY!

 

19 Responses to “ALOHA FRIDAY #22: Are you doing the “Black Friday” thing?”

  1. Nope! I’m avoiding the stores today and decorating for christmas instead. Just dragged everything out of the closet and finally about to start setting up my Christmas village, put candles in each of the windows, and of course doing the bit of cleaning that goes along with that!

  2. I’m avoiding the crowds and chaos and shopping online 😀 It’s much more relaxing. I do usually go out during the last week before Christmas for last minute deals and stocking stuffers, but I try to go mid-week during the day when it’s not as crowded.

  3. Awesome! Might we be seeing pix of your Christmas Village later today on your Farmer’s Daughter blog?

  4. Yup! I stayed at my Mom’s last night. We got up at 4 AM and headed out. I got Brian a welding helmet that he needs, normally $100 down to $60 this morning. Other than that it wasn’t anything big. I picked up a few sets of thermal underwear for us, 2 boot dryers for gifts @ $8.50 a piece, a pair of gloves for me to use in the hay, 2 t-shirts for Brian, a smaller crock pot for $4, and a hair straightener for me (1/2 off) in case I ever have to dress up again. Oh, and two more pillows.

    I actually love going out. I’m a night owl so going out when it is still dark is fun for me. I am NOT there right when the stores open, I have no interest in getting trampled. I think I do pretty good at avoiding impulse buys and sticking to only the things we would need anyway. I scope out the ads and make a plan ahead of time.

    It is sickening to see the junk people pile in their cart. We went to Wal-Mart and they had these cheap, poor quality fleece (plastic!) pajamas for kids. People were buying a dozen sets each. I wouldn’t take them if they were free!

    Oh, well, it was fun anyway. Now I’m home for the rest of the weekend and plan to wrap presents and knit some more. I hope you’re enjoying your day!

    • Jena~What fun! And what bargains, too!

      I’m also a night owl and would have loved to go out this year, but resisted the urge! Next year, definitely! How fun that you slept over at your Mom’s and did this together. I’m sure you both had a hoot!

      That’s an awesome price on the welding helmet; hopefully you haven’t “spilled the beans” by posting that! A good helmet is worth its weight in gold to protect your guy’s eyesight. Our son, Jonathan, was all excited about a helmet he got that automatically closed (or something) when the welding light came on. Come to think of it, I think Abbie got Ed one for Christmas, perhaps last year or the year before! YOU TWO ARE SO SIMILAR, I CAN’T STAND IT!!!

      Really, when are you coming to the east coast to visit?

      Hugs,
      Ruth

  5. Aisling Says:

    Staying home except for a quick drive into the village to pick my daughter up from work and to grab a few groceries. It is my normal shopping day, but with all the leftovers from yesterday it hardly seems that we need anything! 🙂

    Hope your day is wonderful and relaxing!

  6. Crystal Says:

    There is not enough money in the world that would have me out on Black Friday shopping.

  7. I went to CVS and Rite Aid yesterday. I am not going out today to the store since I have my boys. Most of my Chanukah shopping is done to try to avoid all stores during the month of December.

  8. You’re one smart cookie! As much as I do in advance, there seem to always be last-minute things!

    I just went out to run a few usual errands and I was surprised at HOW QUIET the stores were! Maybe everyone else was shopping at midnight!

  9. Jennifer Says:

    No. We slept in and will eventually wander out for a Christmas tree and nap.

  10. Rob Says:

    Not if I can avoid it. LOL. No we didn’t go out and do not plan on it either.

  11. Annie Says:

    No, I don’t like full stores.

    Have a nice weekend.

    Stopping from An Island Life.

  12. Nope, I’m doing Buy Nothing Day instead. 🙂 My husband did go out of town with his dad but I think they wanted to eat and get out of the house more than anything. They didn’t leave until 8:30ish which would mean they didn’t get to any stores until after 9:30. He didn’t get a lot but he did buy me a handmade fair trade penguin ornament and an all natural cream soda in a glass bottle. 🙂

    I stayed home, slept in and still haven’t gotten out of my pjs! I have to in a little bit since I’m going to families for Thanksgiving part 2 but it’s been a nice lazy day!

  13. noelle d Says:

    NO!
    I do not think I could handle the crowds!


Leave a Reply

