Musings of an everyday woman . . .

Reflections on living and loving life . . .

Cookie Swap: What’s your favorite Christmas Cookie? December 20, 2009

Filed under: Christmas,Recipes,Winter — everydaywomanusa @ 12:10 pm
Tags: , , ,

cookie-swap

I’m joining in on the Christmas Cookie Recipe Swap that Farmer’s Daughter is hosting at her blog.  Why not join in by sharing the recipe of your very favorite Christmas cookie?

Believe me, a virtual recipe swap is way easier than the traditional cookie swap!

My very favorite Christmas Cookie has to be my own Mom’s Snowball recipe.  I made these last night as we were awaiting the first big snowfall of the season.  It just seemed like the right thing to do!

They’re easy, yummy, and they disappear quickly!

Mema’s Snowball Cookies

1 cup margarine

1/2 cup confectioner’s sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

2-1/2 cups flour

1/2 cup nuts (walnuts or pecans, chopped or ground)

1/4 teaspoon salt (I usually leave this out)

(Extra confectioner’s sugar for coating cookies)

Cream together margarine, sugar, vanilla.  Mix in flour and nuts.  Hand form into balls and bake in 350 degree F oven for 8-10 minutes.  As soon as they come out of the oven, roll in a bowl of confectioner’s sugar to coat.

Yum, yum!  Enjoy warm or cold (if they last that long!)

 

8 Responses to “Cookie Swap: What’s your favorite Christmas Cookie?”

  1. I’m going to make these today!

  2. Enjoy, they’re the BEST, in my opinion! I actually used whole wheat flour when I made them last night and all the boys said is they were “a little different.” Perhaps I should trying mixing white and whole wheat. . .

  3. Kelsey McMullen Says:

    Also one of my favorites! I also make Peppermint Snowballs(with peppermint extract in the dough and crushed candy canes in the powdered sugar) and Smores snowballs with mini chocolate chips and mini marshmallows hidden inside!

  4. oH, Kelsey, I’ll have to try those, too! Thanks for sharing!

  5. Aisling Says:

    Ruth,

    I just came by to wish you a beautiful celebration of joy this holiday season. You all have so much to look forward to in the coming year!

    A very Merry Christmas and a bright and happy New Year!

    hugs,
    Aisling

  6. Thanks, Aisling, and all the very best to you and your family!!!

  7. kailani Says:

    I LOVE Snowball cookies. All that powerded sugar is Heaven! 🙂

  8. Kailani~I’m guessing those are the only kind of snowballs you get in Hawaii? MERRY CHRISTMAS to your and your family!


Leave a Reply

