Musings of an everyday woman . . .

Reflections on living and loving life . . .

Strolling into Spring!/Sunday Stroll March 7, 2010 March 7, 2010

I must admit I’ve been a bit AWOL from blogging AGAIN due to schoolwork, coursework for my Doctorate, preparations and excitement over the impending arrival of our new grandbaby, and life in general!  I’m also finding Facebook to be much quicker and am making almost daily updates there.

Therefore, with that apology made, I’m forging ahead to make-up this lapse, by posting a combo “”30 Days of Winter Beauty Photos”/”Sunday Stroll.”

                                           

With the incredible spring-like weather we experienced yesterday, with abundance sun and temps in the 50’s, I just couldn’t resist!

My very-pregnant daughter, Abbie (due any day!) and I strolled to a nearby garden center where they were celebrating an early arrival of spring.

The hyacinths and tulips were magnificent!

While we were there, we picked up a few early birthday presents for Abbie, to help welcome in the colors of spring . . .

Some pretty pansies

Some assorted herbs for the windowsill, until they can be planted outside

Pussywillows: a sure sign of spring!

Here’s Abbie with a bit of her “loot.”  She refused to sit down several times throughout our jaunt, but I told her she had to sit for just a bit while I adjusted our goodies in sacks to carry home!

We finished the day with an early birthday celebration (with both families) for Abbie, just in case the little one decides to make his appearance on her actual birthday in a few days!

We enjoyed key lime pie, one of Abbie’s very favorites, whici is a specialty of Ed’s Mom.

Happy Early Birthday, Abbie . . . may all your wishes come true!

What are your wishes from spring?  Are you experiencing any early signs of spring yet in your part of the world?

If you’d like to continue “Sunday Strolling,” just click on over the the “Quiet Country House,” and enjoy your day!

 

7 Responses to “Strolling into Spring!/Sunday Stroll March 7, 2010”

  1. Thanks again for my presents!

  2. Aisling Says:

    I loved the vision of spring… in tulips, pansies, and hyacinth. I think Abbie, in her bright blue, is the prettiest flower of all. This post really feels like spring, brimming with love, light and new life. That’s the good stuff, Ruth! Thank you for sharing with us!

  3. Aisling~you’re so sweet and kind! Thanks for feeling the same joy I did in this photos and activities. . . and thanks for bringing tears to my eyes once again!!!

    Ab~you’re the best present of all! You’re welcome!

  4. Jessica Says:

    Gorgeous. Abbie looks so beautiful. Happy birthday Ab! I can’t wait for your little guy’s birthday too, 🙂

  5. Thanks, Jessica! I know that you’ve been a wonderful inspiration to Abbie as you’ve shared your motherhood experiences with her, and us all! Happy springtime to you and your family!

  6. Jessica Says:

    Thanks Ruth! Congrats again on the wonderful birth of Joshua Daniel!

    Also, I had no idea you were pursuing your doctorate; you inspire me, you have no idea.

  7. Thanks, Jessica, you’re too sweet! LOTS MORE to come on the birth of our precious grandbaby, Joshua, but as you can tell, life events have gotten in the way of updating this blog!

    I’m much more up-to-date on Facebook and I know you’re following Abbie’s blog as well for all the latest on her newborn!

    Love to all! Be back soon! Ruth


Leave a Reply

