Musings of an everyday woman . . .

Reflections on living and loving life . . .

Our Little Prince Has Arrived! March 28, 2010

Filed under: Baby!,Family — everydaywomanusa @ 9:52 am
Tags: , , , ,

Words just seem inadequate to convey the incredible miracle of birth and wonderful life changes that have taken place in our family during the last two weeks.  So, I’ve been indeed wordless on this blog, rather basking in the glory, wonder, and beauty that is:

Joshua Daniel

Born March 12

9 pounds 8 ounces

22-1/4 inches long

As you can see, he is anything but little.  He has brought so much joy to our family and I am SO enjoying witnessing his family unit grow and adjust as their worlds are forever changed for the better.

I am so intensely proud of our daughter and our son-in-law on the new life and wonderful bonds they have created.

It is such a marvelous feeling to see your child become a parent herself. . .

. . . and to see our son-in-law grow so naturally into becoming a dad.

I am so blessed to be a part of this.  I’m loving every minute of it, but I’m just the grandmother . . .

. . . and I keep wondering . . . is it wrong to feel like I already love this new baby, our grandchild, even MORE than our own children?

 

18 Responses to “Our Little Prince Has Arrived!”

  1. laura Says:

    What a wonderful post! Abbie, Ed and Joshua are sooooo blessed to have you in their lives. And you look like such a doting grandma, Joshua is sure to have the best memories of any times spent with you!

  2. Laura~YOU are so kind! The truth is, we’re the ones who feel blessed! And Joshua has another doting grandma, as well as THREE great-grandmas, two grandfathers, and a great-grandpa, so we’ll all just have to share!

    I so enjoy reading about your little guy as well, and I know that both families have lots of wonderful adventures to look forward to!

  3. Cindy Says:

    Ruth, my mother says the same. When my sister’s first daughter was born, my sister would tell her, “mom, I think you love her more than us (myself, herself and my brother).” My mom would reply, “its a different kind of love,” (which I think was just a nice way of putting it)! And now with three grandchildren, my parents are forever glowing. I bet you are thinking, ‘how could I love more grandbabies as much as I love Joshua’ (as my family thought the same before my sister’s second was born), but let me tell you, you will!!! As your family’s closeness is similar to mine, their is SO much love to go around! God bless you all!

    • Cindy~Thank you SO MUCH for your comment!

      Your Mom surely knows exactly what I mean, and I guess I should say “it’s a different kind of love,” like she does, so my sons don’t get upset! Haha!

      I am SO HAPPY to know that your son and Abbie’s son will be growing up together and I look forward to many new memories to be made with our families together!

      By the way, Al was serious about coaching biddy basketball for your little ones!

      Hope to meet little Matteo soon!

      Lots of love,
      Ruth

  4. Aisling Says:

    I think I cry over your posts more than anyone else’s posts. I feel your overwhelming love and joy as I read what you’ve written, and it really touches my heart. That is one lucky little prince. What a beautiful family he is a part of!

  5. Ruth Says:

    Thanks so much, Aisling, please know that I’m tearing up as I read your comment! It doesn’t take much these days! The emotions are more at the surface than ever before, as we revel in the newness of this little guy who we adore so much!

    You have such a close family and I so enjoy reading about your adventures with your own children; I’m just warning you that this next step is even more intense, if that’s even possible!

    Too chilly to stroll with the baby here today (cloudy, low 40s), but they’re promising 70s by next weekend. Our forsythia is out, but that’s about it. C’mon, Spring!

  6. Cloudhands Says:

    Being a parent seems such an awesome responsibility and then there was the freedom of being a grandparent. It just fills you up and puts a stamp of joy and giggles into your life that is unexplainable. Believe me you will giggle more as a grandmother than you can ever imagine. When you baby sit the sense of responsibility is right there where you left it as your children took on adulthood, but you will reconize it. I’m so happy for you.

  7. Cloudhands~thank you, I knew you would understand the feeling!

  8. Oldnovice Says:

    You put into words something I’ve been feeling since Feb 7 (when my first grandchild was born). This was something I never looked forward to, having felt like I was a different kind of woman than my mother (who had been a stay-at-home mom and absolutely loved watching my kids when I went back to work). Now, I find myself vying with the other grandparents to be chosen to babysit. Amazing turnaround. Who knew?

  9. Thanks so much for your comment, “Old Novice!”

    Sometimes our feeling take us quite by surprise, don’t they?

    Enjoy your grandchild; how wonderful!!!

  10. Jon Says:

    WTF mom… more than your own kids???

  11. Ruth Says:

    Uh, oh, I knew I’d say this the wrong way! I should say what Cindy’s Mom said, “It’s a different kind of love.”

    We just don’t know the capacity we have for love until we become a mother. . . and then a grandmother!

    And don’t worry, Jonathan, I’ll have the same capacity to love (or more!) for future grandchildren, too!

    Lots of love, Mom/Grandmom

  12. Nan Says:

    I’m so very happy for all of you!! Thank you for the photos.

  13. Ruth Says:

    Nan~thanks for stopping by . . . and for listening to this proud granny!

  14. Jessica Says:

    Aw, I am so happy for you! I think A & L’s grandmas would agree with you; my mom says the bonus is that she can play and play all day and never needs to say “no” or discipline.

    Personally, I am really hoping that one of our kids will give us a grandchild someday. I cannot wait to have them, 🙂 The actual raising of children is a bit harder, isn’t it?


Leave a Reply

