Musings of an everyday woman . . .

Reflections on living and loving life . . .

Is Facebook squeezing out your blog? November 27, 2010

Filed under: Blogging — everydaywomanusa @ 11:29 pm

We all know how Facebook can suck up your time, but is it squeezing our your blogging time, too?

I’m afraid it’s doing just that to me!  I’m guilty of doing a “quickie” over at FB, instead of giving attention to my blog.  It’s so e-a-s-y to post a brief status update;  upload a pic or two; and check on a few friends and families members for their latest news.  Writing a complete post along with photos on my blog takes longer . . . but it is so worthwhile.  I’m just not sure as many people have access to my blog, as they do to FB . . . actually, I’m quite sure NOT as many people read my blog as they do a quick read of my FB page.

Maybe I should just link my new blog posts (and old ones, for that matter) to my FB status updates.  That might even “up” my readership?!?!

So, if you’ve been wondering what I’ve been doing besides spending time on FB, I am still working/teaching fulltime; still going to school fulltime (currently taking three courses in my Doctoral Program); and spending as much time as possible with this cutie:

So, I’m wondering, is FB squeezing out YOUR blog writing & reading time?

 

7 Responses to “Is Facebook squeezing out your blog?”

  1. Yes! And I love that picture!

  2. Dea-chan Says:

    Ah, see that’s just one of the many reasons why I don’t have one! I read too damn many blogs (and find more cooking ones every day much to my waistband’s dismay!), and I don’t need any more time wasters.

    Cute pic. 😛

  3. Ann Says:

    I try still to do 20 + blog entries a month–and once or twice a week I link my blog to FB–more people have the opportunity to read it–really haven’t checked to see if that’s the case though. Only a few actually take the time to post a comment!
    Almost a year since we met Pioneer Woman in NYC!

    • Ann~so good to hear from you! Yes, meeting P-Dub in NYC was quite a thrill! She’s making the rounds on TV this days . . .

      Kudos to you for 20+ blog entries/month! Like the idea of linking blog to FB. These days, I’m writing so many papers for classes, and reading research in preparation for writing my dissertation–including working full-time–I feel like I’ve been neglecting my blog and getting a “quick-fix” instead on FB!

      You’ve inspired me, though, so, THANKS!

  4. Jessica Says:

    Ruth, I feel like Facebook is a little more immediate, maybe even intimate (though I almost want to retract that), and takes up less time than a full blog post. So yeah, I think I tend to post more frequently on Facebook.

    That said, I think what squeezes my blog time is work, kids, and the people in my life, which, I don’t feel guilty about putting first.

    Good for you for getting in as much face time with your cute grandson! He’s adorable! I know my mom love, love, loves her visits with our kids.

    For the record, I think I’m going to try and blog weekly (or monthly?), we’ll see . . . I love hearing from you too, but I wouldn’t stress over it. Just have fun with the bloggy blog.


Leave a Reply

